Fernando Gaviria beats Elia Viviani to UAE Tour 2019 stage two victory

Primož Roglič retained the overall lead after crosswind affected day

Fernando Gaviria wins stage two of the 2019 Abu Dhabi Tour (Sunada)

(Image credit: Yuzuru SUNADA)

Fernando Gaviria (UAE Team Emirates) sprinted to victory on stage two of the 2019 UAE Tour, beating Elia Viviani (Deceuninck-Quick-Step) in a head-to-head sprint to the line.

The Colombian benefited from a lead-out by Alexander Kristoff, but was forced to start his sprint a long way out with around 250m to go.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Richard Windsor

Follow on Twitter: @richwindy

Richard is digital editor of Cycling Weekly. Joining the team in 2013, Richard became editor of the website in 2014 and coordinates site content and strategy, leading the news team in coverage of the world's biggest races and working with the tech editor to deliver comprehensive buying guides, reviews, and the latest product news.

An occasional racer, Richard spends most of his time preparing for long-distance touring rides these days, or getting out to the Surrey Hills on the weekend on his Specialized Tarmac SL6 (with an obligatory pub stop of course).