Larsson takes final stage as Basso wins overall

final podium 2010 giro d i'italia, ivan basso, david arroyo, vincenzo nibali

Gustav Larsson won the final stage of this year's Giro d'Italia, bringing the curtain down on one of the most spectacular Grand Tours of the last decade. The 15.3 kilometre individual time trial was, in the end, a straightforward stage as it altered the general classification very little.

Larsson, an accomplished time trialler who is often overshadowed by his Saxo Bank team mate Fabian Cancellara, took the first win of his season outside Verona's spectacular Piazza Bra Arena. "I am very happy to win a stage, and I hope it's not my last big win," Larsson said.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Founded in 1891, Cycling Weekly and its team of expert journalists brings cyclists in-depth reviews, extensive coverage of both professional and domestic racing, as well as fitness advice and 'brew a cuppa and put your feet up' features. Cycling Weekly serves its audience across a range of platforms, from good old-fashioned print to online journalism, and video.