Milan-San Remo: how the last 16 editions have been won

Cycling Weekly casts an eye over the past 16 editions of Milan-San Remo to see how it panned out

Mark Cavendish wins Milan-San Remo 2009. Photo by Yuzuru Sunada

(Image credit: Yuzuru SUNADA)

Cycling Weekly takes a look back at past 16 editions of Milan-San Remo see how the final outcome was achieved.

Although it is known as the 'sprinters' classic', the fast-men don't always have it their own way. Eight editions in the past 16 years have produced a winner from a late escape or attack on the flashpoint of the Poggio climb, which peaks at just 5.5km from the finish.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Richard Windsor

Follow on Twitter: @richwindy

Richard is digital editor of Cycling Weekly. Joining the team in 2013, Richard became editor of the website in 2014 and coordinates site content and strategy, leading the news team in coverage of the world's biggest races and working with the tech editor to deliver comprehensive buying guides, reviews, and the latest product news.

An occasional racer, Richard spends most of his time preparing for long-distance touring rides these days, or getting out to the Surrey Hills on the weekend on his Specialized Tarmac SL6 (with an obligatory pub stop of course).