Jolien D'hoore wins a thrilling edition of Ghent-Wevelgem women's race

D'hoore wins the battle of the Belgians, beating national champion Lotte Kopecky in the sprint from an 11-woman break

(Image credit: Getty Images)

Jolien D’hoore won a stunning edition of Ghent-Wevelgem on Sunday, beating Belgian compatriot Lotte Kopecky in another thrilling Women’s WorldTour race in Belgium. 

The two Belgians had been part of an 11 woman breakaway which had formed on the day’s final climb, the Kemmelberg 35km from the line. Despite D’hoore having her Boels-Dolmans team-mate Amy Pieters in there, and Trek-Segafredo having three women, cooperation in the group was excellent right into the final.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Owen Rogers is an experienced journalist, covering professional cycling and specialising in women's road racing. He has followed races such as the Women's Tour and Giro d'Italia Donne, live-tweeting from Women's WorldTour events as well as providing race reports, interviews, analysis and news stories. He has also worked for race teams, to provide post race reports and communications.