Kasper Asgreen outsprints Mathieu van der Poel to win Tour of Flanders 2021

The Dutchman blew up in the final 100m as the Dane took victory

Kasper Asgreen wins the Tour of Flanders 2021 (Photo by Tim de Waele/Getty Images)

(Image credit: Getty Images)

Kasper Asgreen outsprinted Mathieu van der Poel to win the Tour of Flanders 2021, the Dutchman blowing up in the final 100m, shaking his head as the Dane crossed the line victorious.

Van der Poel had attacked on the third and final ascent of the Oude Kwaremont, dropping Wout van Aert as he set off up the road, soon to be joined by Asgreen.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Hi. I'm Cycling Weekly's Weekend Editor. I like writing offbeat features and eating too much bread when working out on the road at bike races.

Before joining Cycling Weekly I worked at The Tab and I've also written for Vice, Time Out, and worked freelance for The Telegraph (I know, but I needed the money at the time so let me live).

I also worked for ITV Cycling between 2011-2018 on their Tour de France and Vuelta a España coverage. Sometimes I'd be helping the producers make the programme and other times I'd be getting the lunches. Just in case you were wondering - Phil Liggett and Paul Sherwen had the same ham sandwich every day, it was great.