Laurens De Plus wins the BinckBank Tour 2019 as Oliver Naesen takes stage seven

The Belgian clawed back enough time to pip Tim Wellens to the title on the final stage

Oliver Naesen wins stage seven of the Binck Bank Tour 2019 (Photo by Bas Czerwinski/Getty Images)

(Image credit: Getty Images)

Laurens De Plus (Jumbo-Visma) won the BinckBank Tour 2019 after overhauling a 12-second deficit to Tim Wellens (Lotto-Soudal), attacking late on stage seven to sweep up bonus seconds and finish ahead of the pack to seal victory.

Oliver Naesen (Ag2r La Mondiale) took the stage win, beating Greg Van Avermaet (CCC) in the sprint finish on the cobbles after the pair had ridden away from the bunch alongside De Plus in the final 20km.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Hi. I'm Cycling Weekly's Weekend Editor. I like writing offbeat features and eating too much bread when working out on the road at bike races.

Before joining Cycling Weekly I worked at The Tab and I've also written for Vice, Time Out, and worked freelance for The Telegraph (I know, but I needed the money at the time so let me live).

I also worked for ITV Cycling between 2011-2018 on their Tour de France and Vuelta a España coverage. Sometimes I'd be helping the producers make the programme and other times I'd be getting the lunches. Just in case you were wondering - Phil Liggett and Paul Sherwen had the same ham sandwich every day, it was great.