Maxgear take overall title in final Revolution

Maxgear win overall title, Revolution 32, January 2011

Revolution 32 photo gallery by Andy Jones>>

Maxgear's consistency during the Revolution track series was rewarded as they took the team championship prize at the season finale on Saturday in Manchester.

Another sell-out Revolution crowd were assured of an exciting night of racing with Team Sky, Maxgear and Le Col all in contention for the overall victory.

European under-23 time trial champion Alex Dowsett aided Team Sky to victory in the opening team elimination ahead of the Chep and Maxgear squads. A win in the team points race then followed for the Commonwealth Games silver medallist.

Olympic champion Ed Clancy and Andy Tennant took the crowd-pleasing 1km madison time trial in a superb time of 57.144 seconds. The former Motorpoint duo were making their racing debut in Rapha Condor Sharp colours.

Luke Rowe, in flying form after retaining his national madison title earlier in the day, claimed victory for the Revolution Allstars with a carefully measured performance in the Australian pursuit. This event sees riders start off at intervals around the track, pacing their pursuit of the rider in front whilst also trying to avoid being caught.

Olympic Academy rider Tom Moses of the Revolution Allstars beat Mark Christian and Claudio Imhof in the 10km scratch race and sprinter David Daniell took victory in the keirin.

Scotland's Ross Edgar of Team Sky overhauled compatriot and 2012 Paralympic pilot hopeful Craig MacLean over two legs of the match sprint final.

Olympic keirin silver medallist Edgar then anchored Pete Mitchell and Philip Hindes to victory in the night's closing team sprint ahead of the International trio comprising youngster Kian Emadi, Roy van den berg and MacLean.

Motorpoint's Emily Kay underlined her promise with overall victory in the Future Stars girl's competition, with Sam Lowe of Team Sky securing the boys' series.

Ross Edgar gets better of Craig MacLean, Revolution 32, January 2011

Ross Edgar gets the better of Craig MacLean

Dean Downing, Revolution 32, January 2011

Dean Downing

Peter Kennaugh and Alex Dowsett, Revolution 32, January 2011

Peter Kennaugh and Alex Dowsett, kilometre Madison

Luke Rowe wheelies to win, Revolution 32, January 2011

Luke Rowe wheelies to win final race

Future Stars overall winners Kay and Lowe, Revolution 32, January 2011

Future Stars winners Sam Lowe and Emily Kay with British Cycling president Brian Cookson (centre)

Related links

Revolution32 photo gallery by Andy Jones

Rowe and Kennaugh take National Madison title

British Madison National Championships 2011 photo gallery

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Founded in 1891, Cycling Weekly and its team of expert journalists brings cyclists in-depth reviews, extensive coverage of both professional and domestic racing, as well as fitness advice and 'brew a cuppa and put your feet up' features. Cycling Weekly serves its audience across a range of platforms, from good old-fashioned print to online journalism, and video.