Miguel Ángel López takes stage four win as Remco Evenepoel closes in on GC at Volta ao Algarve

The young Belgian has just an individual time trial between him and his second overall victory of the season

Miguel Ángel López wins stage four of the Volta ao Algarve 2020 (Photo by Tim de Waele/Getty Images)

(Image credit: Getty Images)

Miguel Ángel López took the stage four win at the Volta ao Algarve with a late attack as Remco Evenepoel finished third to close in on the general classification.

The Astana rider left his attack until the closing stages, jumping clear and powering away towards the finish despite the best efforts of Dan Martin (Israel Start-Up Nation) to bring him back.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Hi. I'm Cycling Weekly's Weekend Editor. I like writing offbeat features and eating too much bread when working out on the road at bike races.

Before joining Cycling Weekly I worked at The Tab and I've also written for Vice, Time Out, and worked freelance for The Telegraph (I know, but I needed the money at the time so let me live).

I also worked for ITV Cycling between 2011-2018 on their Tour de France and Vuelta a España coverage. Sometimes I'd be helping the producers make the programme and other times I'd be getting the lunches. Just in case you were wondering - Phil Liggett and Paul Sherwen had the same ham sandwich every day, it was great.