Peter Sagan takes his first win of the season at Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne; Luke Rowe third

World champion defeats defending champion Jasper Stuyven in final group sprint

Peter Sagan wins the 2017 edition of Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne

(Image credit: Tim de Waele/Corbis via Getty Images)

Peter Sagan (Bora-Hansgrohe) took his first victory of the season as he made up for the disappointment of missing out in Omloop Het Nieuwsblad to win Kuurne-Brussels Kuurne.

Always towards the head of affairs, Sagan proved the fastest of a five-man group in the final few hundred metres, out-sprinting defending champion Jasper Stuyven (Trek-Segafredo) and Team Sky's Luke Rowe.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Henry Robertshaw began his time at Cycling Weekly working with the tech team, writing reviews, buying guides and appearing in videos advising on how to dress for the seasons. He later moved over to the news team, where his work focused on the professional peloton as well as legislation and provision for cycling. He's since moved his career in a new direction, with a role at the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs.