Primož Roglič plummets out of yellow jersey as Max Schachmann defends Paris-Nice title

Magnus Cort won the final stage eight on a day filled with drama

Primož Roglič on stage eight of Paris-Nice 2021 (Anne-Christine PoujoulatAFP via Getty Images)

(Image credit: AFP via Getty Images)

After Mathieu van der Poel and Tadej Pogačar had lit up Tirreno-Adriatico, Primož Roglič said hold my beer as he provided a counterpoint at Paris-Nice, but the drama was at his expense as the Slovenian fell out of the yellow jersey on a crash-marred final stage.

Roglič fell once but got back into the peloton before he was suddenly caught on the wrong end of a split in a bunch, a second crash adding a second rip to his shorts and costing him dearly as Bora-Hansgrohe turned the knife to set things up for Max Schachmann, usurping Roglič to defend his title.  The German started the day 52 seconds behind but after 90km of racing found himself in the yellow jersey, Roglič having lost three minutes on the day and dropping out of the top 10.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1