Sensational Simon Yates storms to stage four win of Ruta del Sol

Simon Yates was too strong for the peloton on stage four of the Ruta del Sol, powering away to win solo by almost 30 seconds.

(Image credit: Getty Images)

A blistering attack from Simon Yates saw him power away from the peloton and breakaway on stage four of the Ruta del Sol to win comfortably, his first success of the 2019 season.

The reigning Vuelta a España champion attacked with 34km to go on the brutal stage in southern Spain, and once he distanced a select group of companions he rode clear to win by 26 seconds from a group of six riders contesting the overall general classification.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Richard Windsor

Follow on Twitter: @richwindy

Richard is digital editor of Cycling Weekly. Joining the team in 2013, Richard became editor of the website in 2014 and coordinates site content and strategy, leading the news team in coverage of the world's biggest races and working with the tech editor to deliver comprehensive buying guides, reviews, and the latest product news.

An occasional racer, Richard spends most of his time preparing for long-distance touring rides these days, or getting out to the Surrey Hills on the weekend on his Specialized Tarmac SL6 (with an obligatory pub stop of course).