Bonus points will be awarded on a number of climbs this Tour de France, but will it affect the GC?

Bonus points are available at the HC summits of the Galibier and Col de l'Iseran

Romain Bardet wins stage 12 of the Tour de France 2017 (Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images)

(Image credit: Getty Images)

A maximum of 64 bonus seconds will be awarded at the summits of eight climbs at the Tour de France 2019.

As well as the regular time bonuses available at the end of every stage, 10, six and four each for the top three finishers, bonus seconds will now be available at mountain summits, which provides the potential to shake up the GC.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Hi. I'm Cycling Weekly's Weekend Editor. I like writing offbeat features and eating too much bread when working out on the road at bike races.

Before joining Cycling Weekly I worked at The Tab and I've also written for Vice, Time Out, and worked freelance for The Telegraph (I know, but I needed the money at the time so let me live).

I also worked for ITV Cycling between 2011-2018 on their Tour de France and Vuelta a España coverage. Sometimes I'd be helping the producers make the programme and other times I'd be getting the lunches. Just in case you were wondering - Phil Liggett and Paul Sherwen had the same ham sandwich every day, it was great.