Greipel wins Tour de France stage four after Cavendish caught in crash

Andre Greipel wins, Tour de France 2012, stage four

Tour de France 2012 stage four photo gallery by Graham Watson>>

Andre Greipel (Lotto-Belisol) won stage four of the 2012 Tour de France in Rouen on Wednesday after a crash decimated the peloton in the final kilometres.

Greipel and his Lotto-Belisol lead-out train avoided the crash and the German sprinter enjoyed a perfect lead-out to take his first win in the 2012 Tour.

Alessandro Petacchi (Lampre-ISD) placed second, with Tom Veelers (Argos-Shimano) in third.

Mark Cavendish (Sky) was one of those caught in the finale crash, injuring his left side. He quickly remounted and rolled into the finish. Sky team-mate Bernhard Eisel was also caught, and came away with a cut above his eye.

There was no change to the overall classification, with Fabian Cancellara (RadioShack-Nissan) maintaining his seven-second lead over Bradley Wiggins (Sky) in second and Chavanel in third.  

Stage four live text coverage, as it happened>>

The day's racing was largely dictated by a three man escape group. Yukiya Arashiro (Europcar) attacked after the riders left the neutralised zone in Abbeville, and was followed by Frenchmen David Mouncoutie (Cofidis) and Anthony Delaplace (Saur-Sojasun).

The trio built up a lead of over eight minutes at one point, before settling in to a six-seven minute advantage for the majority of the day.

After the inevitable catch, an attack by Samuel Dumoulin (Cofidis), Sylvain Chavanel (Omega Pharma-QuickStep) and Wouter Poels (Vacansoleil-DCM) gained some ground in the final 6km but they too were reeled in by the bunch as the pace was wound up.

Lotto-Belisol took control and Greipel finished it off to perfection.

Sagan's fifth place means that he extends his lead in the points classification, particularly as Cavendish was unable to contest the finale. Cavendish slips to fourth in the contest for the green jersey.

There were three non-starters for the day's stage as a result of Tuesday's crashes: Kanstantin Siutsou (Sky), Jose Joaquin Rojas (Movistar) and Maarten Tjallingii (Rabobank).

It's more of the same tomorrow for the riders, another flat stage starting in Rouen and finishing in Saint-Quentin some 196.5km later. Stage five full preview>>


Tour de France 2012, stage four: Abbeville to Rouen, 214.5km

1. Andre Greipel (Ger) Lotto-Belisol in 5-18-32

2. Alessandro Petacchi (Ita) Lampre-ISD

3. Tom Veelers (Ned) Argos-Shimano

4. Matt Goss (Aus) Orica-GreenEdge

5. Peter Sagan (Svk) Liquigas-Cannondale

6. Jonathan Cantwell (Aus) Saxo Bank-Tinkoff Bank

7. Daryl Impey (RSA) Origca-GreenEdge

8. Kris Boeckmans (Bel) Vacansoleil-DCM

9. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) Sky

10. Ruben Perez (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi all same time

Overall classification after stage four

1. Fabian Cancellara (Swi) RadioShack-Nissan

2. Bradley Wiggins (GBr) Team Sky at 7 sec

3. Sylvain Chavanel (Fra) Omega Pharma QuickStep at same time

4. Tejay Van Garderen (USA) BMC Racing at 10 sec

5. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) Team Sky at 11 sec

6. Denis Menchov (Rus) Katusha at 13 sec

7. Cadel Evans (Aus) BMC Racing at 17 sec

8. Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Liquigas at 18 sec

9. Ryder Hesjedal (Can) Garmin-Sharp at same time

10. Andreas Kloden (Ger) Radioshack-Nissan at 19 sec

The peloton head to the coast

David Moncoutie heads the escape group

Bradley Wiggins and Richie Porte

Mark Cavendish after his crash

Andre Greipel wins stage four

Tour de France 2012: Latest news

Sky down to eight after Siutsou crash

Kittel recovering from illness

Explaining the three kilometre rule

Sky's embarrassment of riches

Rogers back on form and backing Wiggins in the Tour

Martin to continue in Tour despite fractured wrist

Liquigas coach tips Sagan for future Grand Tour win

Cancellara's win lifts morale in RadioShack team

Tour de France 2012: Teams, riders, start list

Tour 2012: Who will win?

Tour de France 2012 provisional start list

Tour de France 2012 team list

Tour de France 2012: Stage reports

Stage three: Sagan runs away with it in Boulogne

Stage two: Cavendish takes 21st Tour stage victory

Stage one: Sagan wins at first attempt

Prologue: Cancellara wins, Wiggins second

Tour de France 2012: Comment, analysis, blogs

Analysis: How much time could Wiggins gain in Tour's time trials

CW's Tour de France podcasts

Blog: Tour presentation - chasing dreams and autographs

Comment: Cavendish the climber

Tour de France 2012: Photo galleries

Stage four by Graham Watson

Stage three by Graham Watson

Stage two by Andy Jones

Stage two by Graham Watson

Stage one by Graham Watson

Prologue photo gallery by Andy Jones

Prologue photo gallery by Roo Rowler

Prologue photo gallery by Graham Watson

Tour de France 2012: Team presentation

Sky and Rabobank Tour de France recce

Tour de France 2012: Live text coverage

Stage three live coverage

Cycling Weekly's live text coverage schedule

Tour de France 2012: TV schedule

ITV4 live schedule

British Eurosport live schedule

Tour de France 2012: Related links

Brits in the Tours: From Robinson to Cavendish

Brief history of the Tour de France

Tour de France 2011: Cycling Weekly's coverage index

1989: The Greatest Tour de France ever

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1