Organisers announce first teams due to start the 2019 Tour de France

The 2019 Tour de France kicks off on Saturday, July 6, in Brussels and finishes in Paris on Sunday, July 28.

While the WorldTour teams have automatic entry into the Tour, the wildcard teams are hand-picked by ASO.

The full start list has not yet been confirmed, with riders still considering their Grand Tour options but most of the teams attending have been announced.

So far Wanty-Group Gobert and Cofidis have been confirmed, with two more wildcard teams yet to be announced.

>>> Tour de France: Latest news, reports and info

The 2018 Tour was won by Geraint Thomas (Team Sky), claiming his first victory in the race. The British rider will return in 2019 to attempt a second victory and is likely to face opposition from Nairo Quintana (Movistar), Romain Bardet (Ag2r La Mondiale), Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain-Merida) and Richie Porte (Trek – Segafredo).

The full start list for the 2019 Tour de France is not yet certain, but here are the teams due to start the race:

Tour de France 2019 start list

Team Sky

EF Education First 

Ag2r La Mondiale

Team Sunweb

Bahrain – Merida

Mitchelton – Scott


CCC Team

UAE Team Emirates

Deceuninck – Quick-Step

BORA – Hansgrohe

Astana Pro Team

Dimension Data

Katusha – Alpecin

Groupama – FDJ

Jumbo – Visma 

Lotto – Soudal

Trek – Segafredo

Cofidis, Solutions Crédits

Wanty – Groupe Gobert