Elia Viviani sprints to victory on Vuelta a España stage three as Kwiatkowski holds lead

The Italian champion beat his compatriot Giacomo Nizzolo to the win in Alhaurín de la Torre

Elia Viviani wins stage three of the Vuelta a España (Sunada)

(Image credit: Yuzuru SUNADA)

Elia Viviani (Quick-Step Floors) comfortably won the first sprint finish of the 2018 Vuelta a España, beating Giacomo Nizzolo (Trek-Segafredo) by a bike length on stage three.

The Italian champion's Quick-Step team controlled the front of the peloton for much of the day, but were still able to place Viviani perfectly with Danish champion Michael Mørkøv leading him out in the final 175m.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1