Vuelta a España 2015 to hold night time finish in Madrid?

Vuelta organisers and Madrid City Council considering idea of holding a twilight finish to the final stage of the 2015 race

Vuelta a España organisers Unipublic are considering holding a night time finish on the final stage of the 2015 race in Madrid, Cycling Weekly understands.

While nothing is yet confirmed, a representative of the Spanish grand tour organisers said “it is possible” that the final stage will finish under lights on September 13 next year.

>> Struggling to get to the shops? Try 6 issues of Cycling Weekly magazine for just £6 delivered to your door <<

Madrid City Council are also reportedly interested in the idea, having possibly taken inspiration from the night time podium presentation of this year’s Vuelta, where race victor Alberto Contador was presented with his red jersey outside the Santiago de Compostela Cathedral in Galicia after the final day’s time trial.

The 100th Tour de France in 2013 finished in twilight as it drew on to the Champs-Élysées on stage 21, with organisers ASO putting on a light show as Chris Froome celebrated on the podium, and now Unipublic are looking to put on a similar show for the 70th edition of the Vuelta.

The final day in Madrid will also see the launch of a new one-day women’s race, which the organiser’s confirmed will finish ahead of the arrival of the men into the Spanish capital.

“We are closing a lot of details [about the women’s race] ” Unipublic told CW.

“But for sure the finish of this race will be before the finish of the last stage in the men’s.”

The Vuelta has previously held a night time stage in 2010, beginning at 10pm with a team time trial in Seville which saw Mark Cavendish‘s HTC-Columbia team take the victory and put the Manxman into the red jersey of the race leader.

The full route of la Vuelta 2015 will be revealed on January 10, however GC riders like Chris Froome and Joaquim Rodriguez have already hinted at the possibility riding at the year’s third grand tour.

More from the Vuelta a España