Sven Nys and Marianne Vos take cyclo-cross world titles

Sven Nys wins, Cyclo-cross World Championships 2013

They can take the cyclo-cross world championships out of Europe, but they can't stop the Europeans from sweeping the titles. Sven Nys (Belgium) and Marianne Vos (Netherlands) took a triumphant trip over the Atlantic to Louisville, Kentucky, USA, to take the elite world cyclo-cross titles on Saturday.

The threat of flooding in Louisville, and the subsequent shift of all races to the Saturday, did nothing to spoil the outcome as veteran Nys and pre-race favourite Vos won the respective elite men's and women's title races.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Nigel Wynn
Former Associate Editor

Nigel Wynn worked as associate editor on, he worked almost single-handedly on the Cycling Weekly website in its early days. His passion for cycling, his writing and his creativity, as well as his hard work and dedication, were the original driving force behind the website’s success. Without him, would certainly not exist on the size and scale that it enjoys today. Nigel sadly passed away, following a brave battle with a cancer-related illness, in 2018. He was a highly valued colleague, and more importantly, an exceptional person to work with - his presence is sorely missed.