Tom Pidcock becomes first ever British man to win an elite cyclocross World Cup round in Rucphen

Pidcock passed the leading riders on the final lap

tom pidcock wins cyclocross wold cup
(Image credit: Photo by Luc Claessen/Getty Images)

Tom Pidcock (Ineos Grenadiers) has become the first British man to win an elite cyclocross World Cup event, crossing the line in Rucphen with his arms outstretched after a nail-biting final lap. 

The 22-year-old came to the fore towards the end of the fourth lap, with Eli Iserbyt and Michael Vanthourenhout (both Pauwels Sauzen-Bingoal) joining him. 

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Michelle Arthurs-Brennan

Michelle Arthurs-Brennan the Editor of Cycling Weekly website. An NCTJ qualified traditional journalist by trade, Michelle began her career working for local newspapers. She's worked within the cycling industry since 2012, and joined the Cycling Weekly team in 2017, having previously been Editor at Total Women's Cycling. Prior to welcoming her daughter in 2022, Michelle raced on the road, track, and in time trials, and still rides as much as she can - albeit a fair proportion indoors, for now.