UCI Track World Championships 2011: The Big Preview

All eyes turn to Apeldoorn, Netherlands, this week as stars from the track continue their preparations for next year’s London Olympics at the UCI Track Cycling World Championships (March 23-27).

With less than 500 days to go before the 2012 London Games begin, Team GB would have been encouraged by their performance at the recent Manchester World Cup meeting as well as last year’s championships where they won three golds and finished second in the medal table.

Although Australia topped the medal table and came away from the 2010 championships with the most medals for the second year running, Britain’s record of three gold, four silver and a bronze medal in Olympic events just eclipsed their haul of three golds and two silvers.

As reported in Cycling Weekly earlier this month, much has been made about the condition of the Dutch track, which was only built in 2008.

Dutch sprinter Yvonne Hijgenaar recently told Wieler Revue magazine: “I think the track can be considered as slow; it is certainly not as fast as the tracks of Melbourne and Manchester. 

“The problem is that the wood has not been sanded, so you feel every single piece of it, especially at the highest points of the track your wheel can slide.”

Martin de Kok, director of the championships agreed with Hijgenaar, saying: “I can confirm that the track has not been sanded for the past two years and that we probably
 won’t see any world records.

“However, experts assured us that sanding does not necessarily result in a faster track. If it would be effective, we would be stupid for not doing that.”

Cycling Weekly will be covering the 2011 Track World Championships in full with live text reports, photos, results, interviews, analysis and more

Track World Champs 2011: Great Britain team
With the predicted absence of Bradley Wiggins and Geraint Thomas, most of Britain’s top names will compete at the championships.

Sir Chris Hoy, Victoria Pendleton and Ed Clancy will all defend their titles from last year, while Sam Harrison, Laura Trott and Dani King will make their senior Worlds debut.

Sarah Storey missed on out the final selection place for the team pursuit, despite her success at the Paracycling World Championships earlier this month and February’s Manchester World Cup, while Rebecca Romero was also overlooked.

In one of the biggest surprises, Jess Varnish was picked ahead of Shanaze Reade for the team sprint.

Dave Brailsford cited a slight back injury to Reade, as well as Varnish becoming the first British woman to break the 19-second barrier for the first lap at the World Cup in Manchester, as the reason why she will team up with Pendleton.

Hoy triumphed in the keirin last year, and having missed the championships in 2009, has won gold in the event three times in his last three attempts.

Pendleton won her fifth sprint world title last year, but a below-expectation showing in Manchester increases the pressure on her to perform well. Australian rival Anna Meares, who beat Pendleton in the last two World Cup meets, recently insisted that the Brit is still the person to beat – but even so, Pendleton needs to perform.

Lizzie Armitstead had been selected to ride the omnium, however she was forced to pull out on Friday due to injury. Instead, Trott will ride that event.

Clancy is one of just five male endurance riders selected, indicating that Team GB are focusing on the key Olympic disciplines – team pursuit and omnium – after the individual pursuit, madison and points race were scrapped from the 2012 schedule.

Sam Harrison will look to impress once more after winning the omnium at the Beijing World Cup at his first attempt, and is joined by Steven Burke, Pete Kennaugh and Andy Tennant.

British Cycling’s Performance Director Brailsford commented: “These World Championships are a further stepping stone towards the Olympic Games in London.

“There’s a great mood in the camp and the riders are very much enjoying the process of competing.

“For us it’s a real positive to be going into the World Championships as the hunters rather than the hunted – the pressure is really on the Australians and the French to deliver, and it’s a nice feeling for us to be going out there as the challengers.”

Women’s Sprint

Becky James

Victoria Pendleton

Jess Varnish

Women’s Endurance

Wendy Houvenaghel

Dani King

Joanna Rowsell

Laura Trott

Men’s Sprint

Matt Crampton

Ross Edgar

Sir Chris Hoy

Jason Kenny

Men’s Endurance

Steven Burke

Ed Clancy

Sam Harrison

Pete Kennaugh

Andy Tennant

2010 world track championships copenhagen, ed clancy, gregory bauge, victoria pendleton, lizzie armitstead

Britain’s Ed Clancy (middle) defends his Omnium title

Track Worlds 2011: Event schedule (finals)
Wednesday, March 23

500m time trial women

Team pursuit men

Points race women

Scratch men

Team sprint men

Thursday, March 24

Team pursuit women

Team sprint women

Individual pursuit men

Friday, March 25

Points race men

Sprint men

Individual pursuit women

Saturday, March 26

Sprint women

Keirin men

Omnium men

Scratch women

Sunday, March 27

1km time trial men

Madison men

Omnium women

Keirin women

Track Cycling: Current World Champions


2010 Men’s world champion: Grégory Baugé (France) 

2010 Women’s world champion: Victoria Pendleton (Great Britain) 

Team sprint 

2010 Men’s world champions: Germany (Robert Förstemann, Maximilian Levy, Stefan Nimke) 

2010 Women’s world champions: Australian (Kaarle McCulloch
, Anna Meares) 

2010 Men’s world champion: Chris Hoy (Great Britain)

2010 Women’s world champion: Simona Krupeckaitė (Lithuania) 

Time trials

2010 Men’s world champion: Teun Mulder (Netherlands) 

2010 Women’s world champion: Anna Meares (Australia)

Individual pursuit
2010 Men’s world champion: Taylor Phinney (USA) 

2010 Women’s world champion: Sarah Hammer (USA)

Team pursuit 

2010 Men’s world champions: Australia (Jack Bobridge, Rohan Dennis, Michael Hepburn, Cameron Meyer) 

2010 Women’s world champions: Australia (Ashlee Ankudinoff, Sarah Kent, Josephine Tomic)

Scratch race 

2010 Men’s world champion: Alex Rasmussen (Denmark)

2010 Women’s world champion: Pascale Jeuland (France)


2010 Men’s world champions: Leigh Howard, Cameron Meyer (Australia) 

2010 Women’s world champion: N/A


2010 Men’s world champion: Ed Clancy (Great Britain) 

2010 Women’s world champion: Tara Whitten (Canada)

Points Race

2010 Men’s world champion: Cameron Meyer (Australia) 

2010 Women’s world champion: Tara Whitten (Canada)

Track World Champs 2011: TV schedule
British Eurosport 

March 23, 17:45-21:30 Live Track Cycling Championships (BE2)

March 23, 23:00-00:30 Track Cycling Championships (highlights)

March 24, 18:00-21:30 Live Track Cycling Championships

March 24, 23:00-00:30 Track Cycling Championships (highlights)

March 25, 17:15-21:30 Live Track Cycling Championships

March 25, 23:00-00:30 Track Cycling Championships (highlights)

March 26, 12:45-17:30 Live Track Cycling Championships

March 26, 23:00-00:30 Track Cycling Championships (highlights)

March 27, 12:15-17:30 Live Track Cycling Championships


March 23, 18:30-21:00 Live Track Cycling Championships (Red Button and online)

March 24, 18:00-21:00 Live Track Cycling Championships (Red Button and online)

March 25, 17:30-21:00 Live Track Cycling Championships (Red Button and online)

March 26, 14:15-15:45 Live Track Cycling Championships

March 27, 15:00-17:30 Live Track Cycling Championships

Related links
2011 Manchester UCI Track World Cup meeting: Coverage index
2010 UCI World Track Championships: Coverage index