Wiggins for Paris-Nice; Cavendish for Tirreno-Adriatico

Mark Cavendish and Bradley Wiggins, Team Sky 2012 launch

Bradley Wiggins will head a strong line-up for Team Sky at Paris-Nice (March 4-11), whilst team-mate Mark Cavendish leads the British-based squad in Tirreno-Adriatico (March 7-13), the team announced on Tuesday.

Wiggins finished in third place overall in last year's edition of Paris-Nice behind winner Tony Martin and runner-up Andreas Kloden. It was the first sign last season that Wiggins was on great form, later winning the Criterium du Dauphine and finishing third in the Vuelta a Espana after his Tour de France campaign was cut short due to injury.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Nigel Wynn
Former Associate Editor

Nigel Wynn worked as associate editor on CyclingWeekly.com, he worked almost single-handedly on the Cycling Weekly website in its early days. His passion for cycling, his writing and his creativity, as well as his hard work and dedication, were the original driving force behind the website’s success. Without him, CyclingWeekly.com would certainly not exist on the size and scale that it enjoys today. Nigel sadly passed away, following a brave battle with a cancer-related illness, in 2018. He was a highly valued colleague, and more importantly, an exceptional person to work with - his presence is sorely missed.