Dylan Groenewegen triumphs in bunch sprint on Tour de France stage three

The Dutchman beat Wout van Aert with a bike throw on the line in Sønderborg.

Dylan Groenewegen stage three tour de france 2022.
(Image credit: Getty Images)

Dylan Groenewegen (BikeExchange-Jayco) claimed his first WorldTour victory in over two years with an explosive sprint on stage three of the Tour de France. 

The Dutchman surfed the wheels of his rivals in the finale, pipping Wout van Aert (Jumbo-Visma) and Jasper Philipsen (Alpecin-Deceuninck) to the line in a photo finish. 

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Tom Davidson
Senior News Writer

Tom joined Cycling Weekly as a news and features writer in the summer of 2022, having previously contributed as a freelancer. He is the host of The TT Podcast, which covers both the men's and women's pelotons and has featured a number of prominent British riders. 

An enthusiastic cyclist himself, Tom likes it most when the road goes uphill and actively seeks out double-figure gradients on his rides. 

He's also fluent in French and Spanish and holds a master's degree in International Journalism.