Simon Clarke powers to victory on decisive cobbled Tour de France stage five

Australian beats Taco van der Hoorn and other breakaway rivals in dramatic sprint finish

Simon Clarke
(Image credit: Getty Images)

In an incredibly dramatic day at the Tour de France, Simon Clarke (Israel-PremierTech) powered to victory from the breakaway ahead of Taco van der Hoorn and Neilson Powless (EF Education-Easypost). 

As the leading four riders went under the flamme rouge of stage five of the Tour de France, Powless opened up a powerful sprint looking to secure the stage win. However his late move came too early as the American lost power and was swept up by his breakaway compatriots. 

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Tom Thewlis

Tom has been writing for Cycling Weekly since 2022 and his news stories, rider interviews and features appear both online and in the magazine. 

Since joining the team, he has reported from some of professional cycling's biggest races and events including the Tour de France and the World Championships in Glasgow. He has also covered races elsewhere across the world. 

As well as on the ground reporting, Tom writes race reports from the men's and women's WorldTour and helps with coverage of UK domestic cycling.