Who's the fastest man? New season starts with an unclear sprinting hierarchy

Sam Bennett, Biniam Girmay, Dylan Groenewgen, Fabio Jakobsen and Arnaud De Lie have all won, and Mark Cavendish hasn't even kicked off his year yet

(Image credit: Getty Images)

Heading into the thick of the new WorldTour season, and it is not certain who is the best sprinter, or if there is even one man who stands head and shoulders above the rest. Almost all the big names have raced and won, but there has not been one rider who has cleaned up, set the tone, been dominant.

In Argentina, at San Juan, Sam Bennett (Bora-Hansgrohe), Fernando Gaviria (Movistar), Sam Welsford (DSM) and Fabio Jakobsen (Soudal Quick-Step) all won, while at Etoile de Bessèges, Arnaud De Lie (Lotto-Dstny) won twice, and Biniam Girmay (Intermarché-Circus-Wanty) won at Valenciana.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1