Where: Belgium
When: Sunday April 1 2018
Rank: UCI WorldTour
Distance: 267km

The Tour of Flanders is always special, with its history stretching over 100 editions, it’s a true Monument of the cycling calendar. The 2018 edition of the race takes place on Sunday April 1.

It’s the race’s rich history that helps make it such a prestigious event. The list of previous winners is full of the great Classics riders, from Rik van Looy, Roger De Vlaeminck and Eddy Merckx to contemporary greats Fabian Cancellara and Tom Boonen.

At the same time, no rider has ever won here more than three times, illustrating just how difficult a race it is to triumph in. Victory here is never simply a matter of being the strongest rider, but requires a perfect cocktail of tactics, team support and luck, as well as strength.

Any race ridden over cobblestones is a challenge, but the Tour of Flanders is arguably the toughest of all. The riders face a total of eighteen cobbled climbs, each of them notorious not just for their difficulty, but for the many years of history they have observed since the first edition of the Ronde back in 1913.

Most famous of all is perhaps the Koppenberg, an absurdly difficult climb that, thanks to its maximum gradient of 22 per cent and uneven cobbles, often forces riders to hop off their bike and walk up sections of it.

Since the reimagining of the route in 2012 (when the much-loved Muur Van Geraardsbergen was removed), the Koppenberg has also been pushed back to around just 45km from the finish to play a more decisive part in how the race unfolds.

But it’s the one-two punch of the Oude Kwaremont and Paterberg that are the most crucial. They are both climbed in succession shortly prior to the Koppenberg, the former punishingly long and the latter punishingly steep. But it’s the last time over each, at 17km and 14km from the finish, that will be the real moment of truth of the favourites.

That said, Flanders never plays out in a straightforward manner, and the contenders will have to be alert to what is likely to be many attacks made before these final ascents.

Tour of Flanders 2018 results

Niki Terpstra (Quick Step Floors) won the 2018 edition of the race, after attacking after the Kruisberg and holding off the chasing riders.

1. Niki Terpstra (Ned) Quick-Step Floors
2. Mads Pedersen (Den) Trek-Segaredo
3. Philippe Gilbert (Bel) Quick-Step Floors
4. Michael Valgren (Den) Astana
5. Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC Racing
6. Peter Sagan (Svk) Bora-Hansgrohe
7. Jasper Stuyven (Bel) Trek-Segafredo
8. Tiesj Benoot (Bel) Lotto-Soudal
9. Wout van Aert (Bel) Verands Willems Crelan
10. Zdenek Stybar (Cze) Quick-Step Floors

Climbs and cobbles of the 2018 Tour of Flanders

Distance from start/climb or cobbles/length

0km Start in Antwerp
87km Lippenhovestraat (cobbles), 1.3km
89km Paddestraat (cobbles), 1.5km
121km Oude Kwaremont, 2.2km
132km Kortekeer, 1km
137km Edelare, 1.5km
142.2km Wolvenberg, 0.64km
142.3km Holleweg (cobbles), 1.5km
148km Haaghoek (cobbles), 2km
151km Leberg, 0.95km
155km Berendries, 0.94km
160km Tenbosse, 0.45km
170km Muur/Kapelmuur, 0.74km
189km Pottelberg, 1.35km
195km Kanarieberg, 1km
211km Oude Kwaremont, 2.2km
214km Paterberg, 0.36km
221km Koppenberg, 0.7km
225km Mariaborrestraat (cobbles), 2km
226km Steenbeekdries, 0.7km
229km Taaienberg, 0.53km
240km Kruisberg, 2.5km
250km Oude Kwaremont, 2.2km
253km Paterberg, 0.36km
267km Finish in Oudenaarde

Key info: Start list | Live TV guide

Key riders: Alexander Kristoff | Greg Van Avermaet | Peter Sagan 

Previous editions: 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010

Official website | Official Twitter feed

Quick-Step with another tactically flawless race Niki Terpstra’s (Quick-Step Floors) race-winning move was not the strongest attack of the 2018 Tour of Flanders. That was Peter Sagan’s (Bora-Hansgrohe) over the…

Eurosport has over five hours of live coverage of the 2018 Tour of Flanders with following highlights programmes in case you missed it