Where: Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
When: 23-26 February, 2017
Rank: UCI WorldTour

Caleb Ewan (Orica-Scott) won the final stage of the 2017 Abu Dhabi Tour, edging out Mark Cavendish (Dimension Data) in a sprint finish, as Rui Costa (UAE Team Emirates) secured the overall title.

Costa had taken the overall lead by winning stage three of the race, and needed to do nothing but finish to give his team victory in their home race.

However the stage win was more fiercly contested, with Ewan benefitting from excellent work by his Orica-Scott team-mates to put him in the perfect position with 250m to go.

From there Ewan was the first to launch his sprint, with Cavendish having to settle for second as he was unable to come around the young Australian.

After running for two seasons in a post-season slot in October, the Abu Dhabi Tour celebrates its newly granted WorldTour status by slotting among its fellow races in the Middle East in February.

The four day race has, as with most of the races in the area, lent itself towards sprinters for the most part with its flatlands providing three out of the four stages.

But climbers have won the overall title in the first two editions, with the summit finish of  Jebel Hafeet providing Esteban Chaves and Tanel Kangert the platform to take their respective titles.

The 12.5km climb usually appears on the third stage of the Abu Dhabi Tour, and returns in the same place for the 2017 edition.

That varied terrain provides the stars of cycling the test they need for the upcoming races in Europe, with the top sprinters and climbers from around the world converging on the race.

Marcel Kittel (Quick-Step Floors), André Greipel (Lotto-Soudal) and Mark Cavendish (Dimension Data) will go head-to-head as the top sprinters of the race, while the GC will be battled out between the likes of Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain-Merida), Nairo Quintana (Movistar) and Romain Bardet (Ag2r La Mondiale).

The winner will then be crowned on the final Sunday after a criterium around the Formula One Yas Marina circuit that has concluded the race for all its editions so far.

Abu Dhabi Tour stages

Stage one, February 23, Madinat Zayed – Madinat Zayed (188km) | Report
Stage two, February 24, Abu Dhabi city – Abu Dhabi city (155km) | Report
Stage three, February 25, Al Ain – Jebel Hafeet (186km) | Report
Stage four, February 26, F1 Yas Marina circuit (143km) | Report

Abu Dhabi Tour teams

Ag2r La Mondiale (FRA)
Astana (KAZ)
Bahrain-Merida (BRN)
BMC Racing (USA)
Bora-Hansgrohe (GER)
Lotto-Soudal (BEL)
Movistar (ESP)
Orica-Scott (AUS)
Quick-Step Floors (BEL)
Team Dimension Data (RSA)
Team Katusha-Alpecin (SUI)
Team LottoNL-Jumbo (NED)
Team Sky (GBR)
Team Sunweb (GER)
Trek-Segafredo (USA)
UAE Abu Dhabi (UAE)
Bardiani CSF (ITA)
Team Novo Nordisk (USA)
Gazprom-Rusvelo (RUS)
Nippo-Vini Fantini (ITA)

Abu Dhabi Tour recent winners

2015: Esteban Chaves
2016: Tanel Kangert

Kangert wins atop Jebel Hafeet at the 2016 Abu Dhabi Tour

Tanel Kangert (Astana) wins the Abu Dhabi Tour 2016. Photo: Graham Watson

Key info: Start list | TV guide

The Abu Dhabi Tour 2017 start list is probably the strongest in the its history, with three Grand Tour winners including Nairo Quintana and Vincenzo Nibali