Back to CW’s Olympics homepage>>

The British Olympic Association (BOA) has selected cycling members of Team GB for the Beijing 2008 Olympic Games (August 8-24).

“I?m delighted to be named in the squad for the Beijing Olympics, particularly given the very high standard of competition for places,” said track sprinter Chris Hoy on the news of his selection. “I?m looking forward to getting out there and showing how good British cycling is and to having a successful Games.?

Naturally, Victoria Pendleton was also pleased: “It?s an honour to be selected especially in such a strong squad,” Pendleton said. “I?m looking forward to going to Beijing and building on my form from the Worlds in Manchester earlier this year.?

Dave Brailsford, Team GB Cycling Team Leader for the Beijing 2008 Olympic Games said: ?The Great Britain Cycling team has continued to develop to such a point where it is clearly both the strongest and most professional Cycling team from Great Britain in living memory.”

“The very tough selection decisions which had to be made are a testament to the strength and depth of talent within our programme. In keeping with the overall philosophy of the Great Britain Cycling team this squad will leave no stone unturned in its quest for success.”

The athletes are:


Shanaze Reade (Women?s BMX)

Liam Phillips (Men’s BMX)

Mountain Bike

Oliver Beckingsale

Liam Killeen


Jonny Bellis (Men?s Road Race)

Steve Cummings (Men?s Road Race & Individual Time Trial)

Roger Hammond (Men?s Road Race)

Ben Swift (Men?s Road Race)

Nicole Cooke (Women?s Road Race)

Sharon Laws (Women?s Road Race)

Emma Pooley (Women?s Road Race)


Steven Burke (Team Pursuit)

Mark Cavendish (Madison)

Edward Clancy (Team Pursuit)

Ross Edgar (Team Sprint and Keirin)

Chris Hoy (Sprint, Team Sprint and Keirin)

Jason Kenny (Sprint and Team Sprint)

Paul Manning (Team Pursuit)

Chris Newton (Points Race)

Victoria Pendleton (Sprint)

Rebecca Romero (Pursuit and Points Race)

Jamie Staff (Team Sprint)

Geraint Thomas (Team Pursuit)

Bradley Wiggins (Individual Pursuit, Team Pursuit and Madison)

Wendy Houvenaghel (Women?s Individual Pursuit)