After 16 years, America’s most successful cyclocross team calls it quits will not return come autumn

Clara Honsinger
(Image credit: Getty Images)

In a social media post, the team announced today that it will not be returning this autumn. 

Over the past 16 years, the program has produced and supported America’s most successful cyclocrossers, including Stephen Hyde, Tim Johnson, Clara Honsinger, Ryan Trebon, Jamey Driscoll, Kaitlin Antonneau, and siblings Emma and Curtis White. Under the careful management of Stu Thorne, has at least 20 national championships and two Pan-Am championships, stood on UCI World Cup podiums, and vied for the rainbow jersey as world championships. 

The team was also Cannondale’s longest-running sponsored program, as Thorne's outfit never changed its bike sponsor.

“Unfortunately, all journeys must come to an end. Today, we're sharing the difficult news that the team will not return next season. While it's a hard decision, we know the time is right,” the statement reads.

Sponsors and fans received a worthy thanks in the statement but while a ‘next chapter’ is alluded to, no mention is made behind the reasoning of the discontinuation or what the future will hold for current rostered riders like national champion Clara Honsinger, Curtis White and Katie Clouse. 

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1