Anna van der Breggen extends her Giro Donne lead with victory in the mountain time trial

SDworx dominate yet again, taking three of the top four places in the Alpine test and consolidating their race podium

Anna van der Breggen
(Image credit: Getty)

Anna van der Breggen put in a stunning performance to take an emphatic victory in the Giro Donne mountain time trial on Monday. The world road and TT champion put a remarkable 1-05 into her SDWorx team-mate, Demi Vollering, in second place with Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio in fourth.

Only BikeExchange’s Grace Brown (BikeExchange) was able to mount any sort of challenge, splitting the Dutch team’s bid for a second stage podium lockout, finishing third, 1-15 behind the winner.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Owen Rogers is an experienced journalist, covering professional cycling and specialising in women's road racing. He has followed races such as the Women's Tour and Giro d'Italia Donne, live-tweeting from Women's WorldTour events as well as providing race reports, interviews, analysis and news stories. He has also worked for race teams, to provide post race reports and communications.