Philippe Gilbert wins, Strade Bianche 2011

Philippe Gilbert (Omega Pharma-Lotto) has won on his first attempt on the unmade roads of the Montepaschi Strade Bianche in Italy.

Belgian Gilbert launched a trademark solo attack in the final kilometre of the 190km race, with Italians Alessandro Ballan (BMC Racing) and Damiano Cunego (Lampre) in hot pursuit

However, Gilbert stayed clear, yet again denying a 'home' win in the gruelling race - no Italian has won in the race's five-year history.

Gilbert had a solid season last year, winning the Tour of Lombardy, Amstel Gold Race, Giro del Piemonte, two stages of the Vuelta a Espana and stage of the Tour of Belgium.


Montepaschi Strade Bianche 2011: 190km

1. Philippe Gilbert (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto

2. Alessandro Ballan (Ita) BMC Racing

3. Damiano Cunego (Ita) Lampre-ISD

4. Jure Kocjan (Slo) Team Type 1

5. Fabian Cancellara (Swi) Leopard-Trek

6. Angel Vicioso (Spa) Androni Giocatolli

7. Oscar Gatto (Ita) Farnese Vini

8. Giovanni Visconti (Ita) Farnese Vini

9. Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC Racing

10. Fabian Wegmann (Ger) Leopard-Trek

Strade Bianche

Mark Cavendish, Strade Bianche 2011

Mark Cavendish

Cadel Evans and Giovanni Visconti, Strade Bianche 2011

Cadel Evans and Giovanni Visconti

Andy Schleck, Strade Bianche 2011

Andy Schleck

Fabian Cancellara attack, Strade Bianche 2011

Fabian Cancellara attacks

Philippe Gilbert wins, Strade Bianche 2011

Philippe Gilbert wins ahead of Alessandro Ballan and Damiano Cunego

Strade Bianche: Winners

2011: Philippe Gilbert (Bel)

2010: Maxim Iglinsky (Kaz)

2009: Thomas Lofkvist (Swe)

2008: Fabian Cancellara (Swi)

2007: Alexandr Kolobnev (Rus)

Related links

Montepaschi Strade Bianche 2011: Preview

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1