Britain's Road World Championships medal winners

All of Great Britain's medal winners in the Road Cycling World Championships

Lizzie Armitstead wins the 2015 Womens World Road Championships
(Image credit: Watson)

Beryl Burton won the women's world title twice in the 1960s before Mandy Jones won on home soil at Goodwood in 1982. Tom Simpson was Britain's first men's world road race champion, winning his rainbow jersey in the Basque Country in 1965.

Dave Marsh won the world road race championship for amateurs in Liverpool in 1922, when British riders won gold, silver and bronze. Graham Webb was amateur road race champion in 1967 - the most astonishing thing being that his victory came on the same day as Burton's win in the women's race

Chris Boardman won the first ever world individual time trial title in Sardinia in 1994 when the UCI introduced the event to the World Championship programme.

Nicole Cooke added to the tally in 2008 by winning the road race, with Emma Pooley taking the time trial in 2010, Mark Cavendish the road race in 2011, Bradley Wiggins winning the time trial title in 2014 and Lizzie Armitstead winning the women's road race in 2015.

>>> From Burton to Armitstead: Britain’s road race world champions

Here is a run down of all the British medallists in the World Championships on the road.

Men's road race


Tom Simpson, 1965 San Sebastian, Spain

Mark Cavendish, 2011 Copenhagen, Denmark

Men's amateur road race


Dave Marsh, 1922 Liverpool, Great Britain

Graham Webb, 1967 Heerlen, Netherlands


William Burkill, 1922 Liverpool, Great Britain

Les West, 1966 Adenau, West Germany


Charles Dawey, 1921 Copenhagen, Denmark

Charles Dawey, 1922 Liverpool, Great Britain

Men's under-23 road race


Jonny Bellis, 2007 Stuttgart, Germany

Andy Fenn, 2011 Copenhagen, Denmark

The men's under-23 road race was first run in 1996. Until 1995 the road races were divided into professional and amateur. From 1996 this became elite and under-23

Men's time trial


Chris Boardman, 1994 Catania, Italy

David Millar, 2003 Hamilton, Canada - Millar admitted using EPO and was stripped of his title, which was handed to Australia's Michael Rogers

Bradley Wiggins, 2014 Ponferrada, Spain


Chris Boardman, 1996 Lugano, Switzerland

David Millar, 2001 Lisbon, Portugal

David Millar, 2010 Geelong, Australia

Bradley Wiggins, 2011 Copenhagen, Denmark

Bradley Wiggins, 2013 Tuscany, Italy


Chris Boardman, 1997 San Sebastian, Spain

Chris Boardman, 1999 Verona, Italy

Sir Bradley Wiggins on the podium after winning the Elite Mens TT at the 2014 World Championships

Sir Bradley Wiggins on the podium after winning the elite men's time trial at the 2014 World Championships
(Image credit: Watson)

Junior men's road race

No medals

Junior men's time trial

No medals

Women's road race


Beryl Burton, 1960 Leipzig, East Germany

Beryl Burton, 1967 Heerlen, Netherlands

Mandy Jones, 1982 Goodwood, Great Britain

Nicole Cooke, 2008 Varese, Italy

Lizzie Armitstead, 2015 Richmond, USA


Beryl Burton, 1961 Douglas, Isle of Man

Bernadette Swinnerton, 1969 Brno, Czechoslovakia

Nicole Cooke, 2005 Madrid, Spain


Mandy Jones, 1980 Sallanches, Great Britain

Nicole Cooke, 2003 Hamilton, Canada

Nicole Cooke, 2006 Salzburg, Austria

Women's time trial


Emma Pooley, 2010 Geelong, Australia


Emma Pooley, 2011 Copenhagen, Denmark

Junior women's road race


Nicole Cooke, 2000 Plouay, France

Nicole Cooke, 2001 Lisbon, Portugal

Lucy Garner, 2011 Copenhagen, Denmark

Lucy Garner, 2012 Limburg, Netherlands


Sally Dawes, 1991 Colorado Springs, USA

Junior women's time trial


Nicole Cooke, 2001 Lisbon, PortugalElinor Barker, 2012 Limburg, Netherlands


Elinor Barker, 2011 Copenhagen, Denmark

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1