British Cycling Hall of Fame nominees inducted at Gala Dinner

British Cycling Hall of Fame, Gala Dinner 2010

Cycling legends from the past 50 years of the sport were officially inducted into British Cycling's Hall of Fame on Saturday night in Manchester during the organisation's 50th anniversary Gala Dinner.

50 riders, organisers and other leading lights in the world of cycling were included in the ceremony.

Among those inducted were seven-time World Champion Beryl Burton, eight times Tour de France stage winner Barry Hoban and Tom Simpson who died during the 1967 Tour de France while climbing Mont Ventoux.

Those inductees present at the dinner included Chris Boardman, Peter King, Peter Keen, Craig MacLean, Paul Manning, Eileen Grey, Tim Gould and Caroline Alexander.

Sky news presenter Dermot Murnaghan hosted the evening in front of an audience of 700 at Manchester Central.

The Hall of Fame was conceived by British Cycling to celebrate its 50th anniversary. The public were invited to make nominations from all factes of the sport, and a judging panel then selected the final 50. More names will be added in future years.


Pat Adams

Caroline Alexander

Brian Annable

David Baker

Sid Barras

Stuart Benstead

Chris Boardman MBE

Bill Bradley

Beryl Burton OBE

Keith Butler

Arthur Campbell MBE

Brian Cossavella

Doug Dailey MBE

Tony Doyle MBE

Ian Emmerson OBE

Malcolm Elliott

Benny Foster OBE

Tim Gould

Eileen Gray CBE

Dave Hemsley

Barry Hoban

Dale Holmes

Mandy Jones

Peter Keen OBE

Peter King CBE

Stan Kite

Phil Liggett MBE

Craig Maclean

Paul Manning MBE

John & Doreen Mallinson

Yvonne McGregor MBE

Gerry McDaid

Jason McRoy

Chas Messenger

George Millar

Robert Millar

Graeme Obree

Hugh Porter MBE

Jason Queally MBE

John Rawnsley

Brian Robinson

Alan Rushton

Tom Simpson

Eddie Soens

Colin Sturgess

Dot Tilbury MBE

Graham Webb

Les West

Sean Yates

Tony Yorke OBE

British Cycling Hall of Fame, Gala Dinner 2010

Eileen Gray addresses the audience

Sir Chris Hoy, Chris Boardman, British Cycling Hall of Fame, Gala Dinner 2010

Sir Chris Hoy, Chris Boardman, Doug Dailey and British Cycling president, Brian Cookson are interviewed by Sky's Dermot Murnaghan

Sir Chris Hoy, British Cycling Hall of Fame, Gala Dinner 2010

Sir Chris Hoy

British Cycling Hall of Fame, Gala Dinner 2010

700 people attended the Gala Dinner

Doug Dailey, Victoria Pendleton and Brian Cookson, British Cycling Hall of Fame, Gala Dinner 2010

Doug Dailey receoves his award from Victoria Pendleton (centre) and Brian Cookson (right)

Related links

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Founded in 1891, Cycling Weekly and its team of expert journalists brings cyclists in-depth reviews, extensive coverage of both professional and domestic racing, as well as fitness advice and 'brew a cuppa and put your feet up' features. Cycling Weekly serves its audience across a range of platforms, from good old-fashioned print to online journalism, and video.