Manchester Track World Cup 2011: Cycling Weekly's coverage index

Manchester Track World Cup 2011 logo

Between February 18-20 the best track cyclists on the planet head to the Manchester Velodrome for the final round of the 2010-11 UCI Track World Cup Classics series.

The battle for 2012 Olympic qualification points will be fierce at the three-day event that decides which nations claim the overall World Cup crowns.

The programme of sprints and endurance races mirrors the events you will see in the Olympics and is the last piece of international competition before March's World championships in Holland.

The British team heading to Manchester is one of the strongest teams ever assembled. Rebecca Romero misses out due to a minor injury but six Olympic champions are included in the team. They will be looking to top the 10 gold medals they won at the same venue in 2009.

The event sees the return of Olympic team pursuit champions Bradley Wiggins and Geraint Thomas. The last time the duo rode together they set the world record and won Olympic gold in Beijing.

The sprinters are at full strength. Triple Olympic champion Sir Chris Hoy and Victoria Pendleton are both competing in the team sprint as well as the individual sprint.

Ben Swift and Lizzie Armitstead will compete in the omnium whilst Paralympic gold medalist Sarah Storey and BMX world champion Shanaze Reade will also be competing in Manchester. The Event starts on Friday.

Cycling Weekly will be covering Friday's afternoon/evening sessions with live text updates here on

Manchester Track World Cup 2011: Latest News

What did we learn at the track on FridayPendleton expects to retire after 2012 Olympics

Wiggins' bid for Tour and Olympic double starts now

Dani King, living the dream and ready for Manchester

Brailsford set to turn attention back to track

Romero out of track World Cup

Strongest ever British track squad named for Manchester World Cup

British team pursuiters tune up in Majorca

Track World Cup 2011, Beijing, day three: James wins bronze in Keirin

Track World Cup, Beijing, day two: Harrison scores omnium gold at first attempt

Track World Cup, Beijing, day one: Young team pursuiters score bronze in Beijing

Manchester Track World Cup 2011: Daily Reports

Day one: Team pursuiters grab Britain's first gold as Australians edge opening nightHoy storms to keirin victory

Day three: Final gold for Great Britain in team pursuit

Manchester Track World Cup 2011: Photo galleries

Day oneDay two

Velodrome, Manchester Track World Cup 2011

Manchester Velodrome

Manchester Track World Cup 2011: Race Schedule

Friday, February 18 - Day One

Men's Sprint, Men's Omnium, Women's Team Pursuit, Men's Individual pursuit, Women's Team Sprint.

Saturday, February 19 - Day Two

Women's Sprint, Women's Omnium, Men's Omnium (concluded from day one), Men's Keirin, Woman's scratch race.

Sunday, February 20 - Day Three

Women's Omnium (concluded from day two), Women's Keirin, Men's Team pursuit, Men's Team Sprint, Men's JKA Keirin.

Manchester Track World Cup 2011: British TV guide

The World Cup event in Manchester will be shown on the BBC as below. Times may be subject to change.

Day one, Friday (February 18) 19.00-23.00; Live coverage on BBC red button.

Day two, Saturday (February 19) 19.00-23.00; Live coverage available on BBC red button (also available on Freeview from 21.20-23.00).

Day three, Sunday (February 20) 13.30-17.00; Live coverage on BBC One

British Eurosport

Sunday, February 20: 20.00-22.00, Track World Cup highlights, British Eurosport 2

Manchester Track World Cup 2011: GB Cycling Team

Click on a name to jump to a rider profile of that rider.

Men's Team

Matt Crampton (Team Sprint)

Ross Edgar (Team Sprint)

Sir Chris Hoy (Team Sprint and Sprint)

Jason Kenny (Team Sprint and Sprint)

Steven Burke (Team Pursuit)

Ed Clancy (Team Pursuit)

Andy Tennant (Team Pursuit)

Geraint Thomas (Team Pursuit)

Bradley Wiggins (Team Pursuit)

Ben Swift (Omnium)

Women's Team

Becky James (Keirin, Team Sprint and Sprint)

Victoria Pendleton (Keirin, Team Sprint and Sprint)

Shanaze Reade (Team Sprint)

Jessica Varnish (Keirin and Team Sprint)

Lizzie Armitstead (Omnium)

Katie Colclough (Team Pursuit)

Claire Galloway (Team Pursuit)

Wendy Houvenaghel (Team Pursuit)

Dani King (Team Pursuit)

Joanna Rowsell (Team Pursuit)

Sarah Storey (Team Pursuit)

Laura Trott (Team Pursuit and Women's Scratch Race)

Related links

International track results 2010-11

CW's Dummies Guide to... Track Racing

Fastest individual pursuit times

Cycling Weekly's Rider Profiles: Index

External links

Manchester Track World Cup 2011 official website

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1