Adam Yates wins queen stage of Volta a la Comunitat Valenciana ahead of world champion Alejandro Valverde

Edvald Boassen Hagen put in a brave ride but conceded the overall leadership to Ion Izagirre

Adam Yates beats Alejandro Valverde to take his first win of 2019 (Photo by David Ramos/Getty Images)

(Image credit: Getty Images)

Adam Yates powered away from world champion Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) to win the queen stage of the Volta a Valenciana.

The British Mitchelton-Scott rider only revealed his intentions on the brutal slopes of the final climb to Alcossebre, attacking 400 metres from the line and holding the Spaniard at bay.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Alex Ballinger

Alex Ballinger is editor of BikeBiz magazine, the leading publication for the UK cycle industry, and is the former digital news editor for After gaining experience in local newsrooms, national newspapers and in digital journalism, Alex found his calling in cycling, first as a reporter, then as news editor responsible for Cycling Weekly's online news output, and now as the editor of BikeBiz. Since pro cycling first captured his heart during the 2010 Tour de France (specifically the Contador-Schleck battle) Alex covered three Tours de France, multiple editions of the Tour of Britain, and the World Championships, while both writing and video presenting for Cycling Weekly. He also specialises in fitness writing, often throwing himself into the deep end to help readers improve their own power numbers.  Away from the desk, Alex can be found racing time trials, riding BMX and mountain bikes, or exploring off-road on his gravel bike. He’s also an avid gamer, and can usually be found buried in an eclectic selection of books.