Annemiek van Vleuten takes Movistar’s first win after a tense Dwars door Vlaanderen

The European champion won a 300m, two woman sprint after a 36km breakaway, beating Kasia Niewiadoma init second place

(Image credit: Getty Images)

Annemiek van Vleuten won for the first time in Movistar colours after a 36km two-woman breakaway at Dwars door Vlaanderen on Wednesday.

The European champion opened her sprint with 300m to go, out-sprinting Kasia Niewiadoma (Canyon-SRAM) who finished second.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1