Katie Archibald, Katy Marchant and Charlie Tanfield among winners at British Track National Championships 2018

Round-up of results from the British Track National Championships 2018 at the Manchester Velodrome, January 26-28 - Photos by Andy Jones

Charlie Tanfield, British Track National Championships 2018
(Image credit: Andy Jones)

Women's team pursuit

1. Team Breeze

2. Team Backstedt-Hotchillee

3. Liv CC-Halo Cycles

Katy Marchant (Yorkshire Lass CC) enjoyed success in the sprint disciplines, coming away with both the individual sprint and 500-metre time trial titles.

North West Region A's duo of Lauren Bate and Georgia Hilleard also took the women's team sprint.

Paracycling B time trial

1. Sophie Thornhill/Helen Scott

2. Neil Fachie/Matt Rotherham

3. James Ball/Peter Mitchell

Recent World Cup round winner Charlie Tanfield caught defending champion Dan Bigham in the gold medal final, while John Archibald took bronze.

Men's individual pursuit

1. Charlie Tanfield (Team KGF)

2. Dan Bigham (Team KGF)

3. John Archibald (Team KGF)

Women's individual pursuit

1. Katie Archibald (Wiggle-High5)

2. Emily Nelson (Storey Racing)

3. Emily Kay

Paracycling C1-5 time trial

1. Jon-Allan Butterworth

2. Blaine Hunt

3. Katie Toft

Katie Archibald (Wiggle-High5) took three national titles at the 2018 British track championships, winning the individual pursuit, points race and scratch race.

Jason Kenny joined Jack Carlin and Philip Hindes (North West Region A) in winning the men's team sprint title ahead of Matt and Tom Rotherham and Joel Partington (Sportcity Velo). North West Region B (Alex Jolliffe, Lewis Stewart and Hamish Turnbull) took bronze.

Jack Carlin won men's sprint title, with Jess Crampton (Sportcity Velo) and Lewis Oliva (Team Wales) claiming the women's and men's keirin crowns respectively.

Joe Truman (I-Team CC) won the men's kilo time trial.

All Team KGF line-up on the men's individual pursuit podium, with Charlie Tanfield (centre) winning; Dan Bigham (left) in second; and John Archibald (right) in third
(Image credit: Andy Jones)

Men's sprint

1. Jack Carlin

2. Lewis Oliva (Team Wales)

3. Matt Rotherham (Sportcity Velo)

Katy Marchant took the women's sprint title
(Image credit: Andy Jones)

Women's scratch race

1. Katie Archibald (Wiggle-High5)

2. Eleanor Dickinson (Team Breeze)

3. Emily Nelson (Storey Racing)

However, there was upset in the men's team pursuit final as Team KGF's A line-up suffered a mechanical issue and dropped to riders, leaving 100% ME to take the title. KGF's B team took bronze to give them second and third places on the podium.

Team Breeze won the women's team pursuit with Backstedt-Hotchillee in second and Liv CC-Halo Cycles in third.

Women's team sprint

1. North West Region A (Lauren Bate/Georgia Hilleard)

2. Scotland (Lucy Grant/Lusia Steele)

3. North West Region B (Sophie Capewell/Blaine Ridge-Davis)

Women's sprint

1. Katy Marchant (Yorkshire Lass CC)

2. Sophie Capewell (Team Terminator)

3. Katie Archibald (Wiggle-High5)

Men's points race

1. John Archibald (Team KGF)

2. Ethan Hayter (100% ME)

3. Fred Wirght (100% ME)

Men's scratch race

1. Ollie Wood (JLT Condor)

2. Rhys Britton (100% ME)

3. Matt Walles (100% ME)

Men's keirin

1. Lewis Oliva (Team Wales)

2. Joe Truman (I-Team CC)

3. Alex Joliffe (Team Terminator)

Women's keirin

1. Jessica Crampton (Sportcity Velo)

2. Lauren Bate (Team Terminator)

3. Sophie Capewell (Team Terminator)

Paracycling B 200m flying start

1. Sophie Thornhill/Helen Scott

2. Neil Fachie/Matt Rotherham

3. Laura Cluxton/Emma Baird

Men's team pursuit

1. 100% ME

2. Team KGF A

3. Team KGF B

Women's 500m time trial

1. Katy Marchant (Yorkshire Lass CC)

2. Lauren Bate (Team Terminator)

3. Jessica Crampton (Sportcity Velo)

Paracycling C1-5 200m flying start

1. Blaine Hunt

2. Katie Toft

3. Matthew Robertson

Men's team sprint

1. North West Region A

2. Sportcity Velo

3. North West Region B

Lewis Oliva tops the men's keirin podium
(Image credit: Andy Jones)

There was more success for the Archibald family, as Katie's brother John took his first national title in the men's points race.

Women's points race

1. Katie Archibald (Wiggle-High5)

2. Emily Kay

3. Jessica Roberts (Team Breeze)

Men's 1000m time trial

1. Joe Truman (I-Team CC)

2. Callum Skinner (100% ME)

3. Kian Emadi

Team KGF continued their collective strong performances, with the squad's riders filling all three positions on the individual pursuit podium.

>>> Charlie Tanfield could aim for Bradley Wiggins’s UCI Hour Record

Charlie Tanfield caught Dan Bigham in the men's pursuit final
(Image credit: Andy Jones)

Paracycling C1-5 pursuit

1. Louis Rolfe

2. Jon Gildea

3. Katie Toft

Paracycling B pursuit

1. Lora Fachie/Corrine Hall

2. Laura Cluxton/Emma Baird

3. Jack Garner/Joshua Dunham

The three events were all ones that the 23-year-old Scot had gone into the championships as defending champion. She also added bronze in the sprint – a discipline that she does not normally compete in.

Katie Archibald
(Image credit: Andy Jones)