Jakob Fuglsang takes a dominant Monument victory at Il Lombardia 2020

The 2019 Liège-Bastogne-Liège winner beat George Bennett after Remco Evenepoel crashed out

(Image credit: Getty Images)

Jakob Fuglsang takes his second Monument victory of his career, winning his first Il Lombardia title after beating Jumbo-Visma's George Bennett.

It ended up looking like a story between two teams as three Trek-Segafredo riders and two Astana men, along with Bennett, went clear on the descent of the Colma di Sormano after a nasty crash for Remco Evenepoel (Deceunick - Quick-Step), who was conscious as he was transported to hospital.

Trek's trio of Vincenzo Nibali, Giulio Ciccone and defending champion Bauke Mollema were all dropped on the Civiglio climb as Bennett stayed with Fuglsang and Aleksandr Vlasov (Astana).

How it happened

The riders started the 114th Il Lombardia in Bergamo with a very challenging route of 231km to Como where the second Monument of the year finished.

An 11-man break went up the road early on, including Petre Vakoč (Alpecin-Fenix), James Piccoli (Israel Start-Up Nation) and Joey Rosskopf (CCC Team).

It was Piccoli who went solo, with around 70km to go, but behind the peloton was flying up the climbs, bringing the time gap down rapidly, with Astana and Deceuninck - Quick-Step doing the work.

>>> Lennard Kämna takes his first career win as Primož Roglič stays in yellow after stage four of Critérium du Dauphiné 2020

Piccoli was caught just a couple of kilometres later as Evenepoel asked for more pace before they hit the steep slopes of the Colma di Sormano.

On the Sormano, Vlasov and Fuglsang shared duties with Mathieu van der Poel (Alpecin-Fenix), Richard Carapaz (Ineos) and Diego Ulissi (UAE Team Emirates) all dropped out of the back.

As the lead group went over the top Nibali went to the front and tried to create a gap on a very tricky, tight and twisty descent.

All the riders were keeping up well with Evenepoel at the back. It was only on one bend, where the road tightened on the exit of a corner to go across a bridge, that the 20-year-old Belgian went into the wall and over the other side.

As the lead group got to the bottom there were only six riders left: Bennett, Vlasov, Fuglsang, Nibali, Ciccone and Mollema.

They all worked well together as riders such as Van der Poel were chasing behind. But as they hit the penultimate climb of Civiglio Fuglsang attacked with Bennett on the wheel. Soon after, Vlasov attacked across to Bennett and his team-mate, Fuglsang.

All three Trek riders were in trouble, Nibali especially, as he had put in a big effort to work for his team.

>>> Steven Kruijswijk and Emanuel Buchmann crash out of Critérium du Dauphiné

The three leaders then started to work together over the top and on the way to the last climb of San Fermo della Battaglia.

Bennett attacked at the base of the climb, immediately distancing the Russian champion, Vlasov.

Bennett tried another three times to drop Fuglsang before the two-time Critérium du Dauphiné winner hit the New Zealander hard with a vicious attack.

The winner of Gran Piemonte, just three days previous, Bennett was not able to get back on terms with the great Dane who took the win by over 30 seconds.


Il Lombardia 2020 - Bergamo to Como (231km)

1. Jakob Fuglsang (Den) Astana, in 5-32-54

2. George Bennett (NZl) Jumbo-Visma, at 31s

3. Aleksandr Vlasov (Rus) Astana, at 51s

4. Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek-Segafredo, at 1-19

5. Giulio Ciccone (Ita) Trek-Segafredo, at 1-40

6. Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Trek-Segafredo, at 3-31

7. Max Schachmann (Ger) Bora-Hansgrohe, at 4-31

8. Diego Ulissi (Ita) UAE Team Emirates, at 5-20

9. Ben Hermans (Bel) Israel Start-Up Nation, at 6-00

10. Mathieu van der Poel (Ned) Alpecin-Fenix, at 6-28

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Tim Bonville-Ginn

Hi, I'm one of Cycling Weekly's content writers for the web team responsible for writing stories on racing, tech, updating evergreen pages as well as the weekly email newsletter. Proud Yorkshireman from the UK's answer to Flanders, Calderdale, go check out the cobbled climbs!

I started watching cycling back in 2010, before all the hype around London 2012 and Bradley Wiggins at the Tour de France. In fact, it was Alberto Contador and Andy Schleck's battle in the fog up the Tourmalet on stage 17 of the Tour de France.

It took me a few more years to get into the journalism side of things, but I had a good idea I wanted to get into cycling journalism by the end of year nine at school and started doing voluntary work soon after. This got me a chance to go to the London Six Days, Tour de Yorkshire and the Tour of Britain to name a few before eventually joining Eurosport's online team while I was at uni, where I studied journalism. Eurosport gave me the opportunity to work at the world championships in Harrogate back in the awful weather.

After various bar jobs, I managed to get my way into Cycling Weekly in late February of 2020 where I mostly write about racing and everything around that as it's what I specialise in but don't be surprised to see my name on other news stories.

When not writing stories for the site, I don't really switch off my cycling side as I watch every race that is televised as well as being a rider myself and a regular user of the game Pro Cycling Manager. Maybe too regular.

My bike is a well used Specialized Tarmac SL4 when out on my local roads back in West Yorkshire as well as in northern Hampshire with the hills and mountains being my preferred terrain.