Lizzie Deignan takes Women's Tour GC lead after stage five victory

Victory is the first for the former world champion since returning to the peloton after maternity leave

(Image credit: Alex Whitehead/

Lizzie Deignan bagged an emotional first race win since her return to racing on Friday, winning the queen stage of the Women’s Tour in Mid Wales.

Deignan, Kasia Niewiadoma (Canyon-SRAM) and Trek-Segafredo team-mate Elisa Longo Borghini had attacked what remained of the of the peloton nearing the top of the race’s final climb, Epynt.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Owen Rogers is an experienced journalist, covering professional cycling and specialising in women's road racing. He has followed races such as the Women's Tour and Giro d'Italia Donne, live-tweeting from Women's WorldTour events as well as providing race reports, interviews, analysis and news stories. He has also worked for race teams, to provide post race reports and communications.