Mark Cavendish and Alice Barnes headline British squads for European Championships

Stacked teams for the men’s and women’s races next week

(Image credit: Yuzuru SUNADA)

Mark Cavendish and Hannah Barnes will headline the British squads at the European Championships.

The UEC European Road Championships will be held in Alkmaar in the Netherlands next week, with the British team fielding very strong squads.

Barnes, the newly crowned national road and time trial champion, will race the elite women’s road race alongside her sister Hannah.

>>> Which riders will Team Ineos pick for the Vuelta a España 2019?

Cavendish (Dimension Data) will form part of a men’s squad that also includes Tour de Yorkshire winner Chris Lawless (Team Ineos), Alex Dowsett (Katusha-Alpecin), Luke Rowe (Team Ineos), and Adam Blythe (Lotto-Soudal).

The European Championships are being held from August 7 to 11.

In the time trial, Alice Barnes and Commonwealth Games Bronze medallist Hayley Simmonds will represent GB, while national time trial champion will be the men’s TT hope.

In the women’s under-23 category road race, Rhona Callander, Pfeiffer Georgi and Elizabeth Holden will carry the hopes, while a six-rider team will contest the mens U23 race.

>>> Mark Cavendish targeting first win in 17 months at Tour of Poland

The 2019 championships will be the 25th edition of the event, which were held in Glasgow last year.

Matteo Trentin (Mitchelton-Scott) won the elite men’s race, while Marta Bastianelli (Team Virtu Cycling) won the women’s.

Great Britain Cycling Team squads for the UEC European Road Championships 2019:

Under-23 women – road race

Rhona Callander

Pfeiffer Georgi

Elizabeth Holden

Under-23 women – time trial

Anna Henderson

Elizabeth Holden

Under-23 men – road race

Jim Brown

Joe Nally

Will Tidball

Ethan Vernon

Matt Walls

Fred Wright

Under-23 men – time trial

Charlie Quarterman

Ethan Vernon

Elite women – road race

Alice Barnes

Hannah Barnes

Anna Henderson

Nicola Juniper

Hayley Simmonds

Elite women – time trial

Alice Barnes

Hayley Simmonds

Elite men – road race

Adam Blythe

Mark Cavendish

Gabriel Cullaigh

Alex Dowsett

Chris Lawless

Dan McLay

Luke Rowe

Connor Swift

Elite men – time trial

Alex Dowsett

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Alex Ballinger

Alex Ballinger is editor of BikeBiz magazine, the leading publication for the UK cycle industry, and is the former digital news editor for After gaining experience in local newsrooms, national newspapers and in digital journalism, Alex found his calling in cycling, first as a reporter, then as news editor responsible for Cycling Weekly's online news output, and now as the editor of BikeBiz. Since pro cycling first captured his heart during the 2010 Tour de France (specifically the Contador-Schleck battle) Alex covered three Tours de France, multiple editions of the Tour of Britain, and the World Championships, while both writing and video presenting for Cycling Weekly. He also specialises in fitness writing, often throwing himself into the deep end to help readers improve their own power numbers.  Away from the desk, Alex can be found racing time trials, riding BMX and mountain bikes, or exploring off-road on his gravel bike. He’s also an avid gamer, and can usually be found buried in an eclectic selection of books.