Spectator causes huge crash on stage one of Vuelta a San Juan 2020

The high-speed run to the line was interrupted when riders went down at the front of the bunch

See more

The opening stage of the Vuelta a San Juan 2020 was disrupted by a huge crash caused by a spectator in the final.

An all-star peloton lined up in Argentina for stage one on Sunday (January 26), as the sprinters took their first opportunity.

But the dash for the line was marred by a major collision around 3.5km from the line, when a fan stood too close to the peloton clipped a rider and sent him across the peloton.

The chain reaction saw a large group of riders go down as the peloton was split in half.

Among those who crashed was Remco Evenepoel (Deceuninck – Quick-Step).

The Belgian finished 1-16 down on the stage winner after the crash, but the race jury later decided to neutralise the time gaps caused by the fall.

A statement from the commissares said: “After the crash that happened on the first stage, which happened 3.5km from the finish line, after watching a video that clearly shows the crash was caused by a spectator when he touched the handlebar of a rider, the commissaires panel has taken the decision to give the same time to all the riders that were in the bunch at the moment of the crash.”

The ensuing chaotic sprint finish was won by Frenchman Rudy Barbier, riding for Israel Start-Up Nation.

Big name sprinters missed out on the stage in the melee, with Álvaro Hodeg (Quick-Step) finishing fifth, Peter Sagan (Bora-Hansgrohe) in sixth and Fernando Gaviria in ninth.

Gaviria said: “The stage went well, none of the team crashed which is always good. We worked to try and win the stage but there was confusion in the end after the crash.

“Tomorrow is another good stage for us and an opportunity to go for the win, so we will be hoping for a good result.”

>>> Richie Porte obliterated the Willunga Hill KoM – here’s how his ride compares to previous years 

Vuelta a San Juan is a seven-stage race around the San Juan province in western Argentina.

The 2.Pro-ranked race attracts cycling stars, including Julian Alaphilippe (Quick-Step) who notched up two stage wins in last year’s edition.

Thank you for reading 10 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Alex Ballinger

Alex Ballinger is editor of BikeBiz magazine, the leading publication for the UK cycle industry, and is the former digital news editor for CyclingWeekly.com. After gaining experience in local newsrooms, national newspapers and in digital journalism, Alex found his calling in cycling, first as a reporter, then as news editor responsible for Cycling Weekly's online news output, and now as the editor of BikeBiz. Since pro cycling first captured his heart during the 2010 Tour de France (specifically the Contador-Schleck battle) Alex covered three Tours de France, multiple editions of the Tour of Britain, and the World Championships, while both writing and video presenting for Cycling Weekly. He also specialises in fitness writing, often throwing himself into the deep end to help readers improve their own power numbers.  Away from the desk, Alex can be found racing time trials, riding BMX and mountain bikes, or exploring off-road on his gravel bike. He’s also an avid gamer, and can usually be found buried in an eclectic selection of books.