Greipel wins second successive Tour stage as Cavendish fades

Andre Greipel wins, Tour de France 2012, stage five

Andre Greipel (Lotto-Belisol) won his second consecutive stage of this year's Tour de France after another crash-affected sprint into St. Quentin.

In a final few kilometres complete with puddles and a speed-sapping rise in the road, the German powerhouse showed a deft touch to navigate his way to the line after yet more fine work from his Lotto team.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Founded in 1891, Cycling Weekly and its team of expert journalists brings cyclists in-depth reviews, extensive coverage of both professional and domestic racing, as well as fitness advice and 'brew a cuppa and put your feet up' features. Cycling Weekly serves its audience across a range of platforms, from good old-fashioned print to online journalism, and video.