Simon Yates sprints to first Tour de France win on stage 12

Rohan Dennis' temporary disappearance dominated the headlines as the GC took a day off before tomorrow's time trial

(Image credit: AFP/Getty Images)

Simon Yates won his first ever Tour de France stage victory with a well-timed sprint on stage 12 from Toulouse to Bagnères-de-Bigorre.

Going into the final 90-degree bend with 300m to go alongside Gregor Mühlberger (Bora-Hansgrohe) and Pello Bilbao (Astana), Yates hit the front and opened up his sprint, holding strong to the line with neither rider able to pass him. Bilbao finished second with Mühlberger third.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Hi. I'm Cycling Weekly's Weekend Editor. I like writing offbeat features and eating too much bread when working out on the road at bike races.

Before joining Cycling Weekly I worked at The Tab and I've also written for Vice, Time Out, and worked freelance for The Telegraph (I know, but I needed the money at the time so let me live).

I also worked for ITV Cycling between 2011-2018 on their Tour de France and Vuelta a España coverage. Sometimes I'd be helping the producers make the programme and other times I'd be getting the lunches. Just in case you were wondering - Phil Liggett and Paul Sherwen had the same ham sandwich every day, it was great.