Dylan van Baarle wins Tour of Britain as Marcel Kittel takes final stage victory in London

Mark Cavendish pipped on the line by Marcel Kittel; Bradley Wiggins finishes third overall after winning morning time trial

Dutchman Dylan Van Baarle (Garmin-Sharp) won the 2014 edition of the Tour of Britain in London on Sunday, after limiting his losses in the morning’s time trial and finishing safely in the peloton in the afternoon’s finale.

Marcel Kittel (Giant-Shimano) ended his Tour of Britain as it began, winning the bunch sprint after a frantic final circuit-based stage in Westminster.

>> Save up to 35% with a magazine subscription. Enjoy the luxury of home delivery and never miss an issue <<

Mark Cavendish (Omega Pharma-QuickStep) was pipped to the line in a photo finish, with Nicola Ruffoni (Bardiani) in third.

Bradley Wiggins (Sky) won the morning’s short 8.8km time trial with a typically dominant and crowd-pleasing ride against the clock. However, the distance simply wasn’t enough for the defending champion to make more headway into the top of the general classification and he ended the race in third spot overall behind Van Baarle and Michal Kwiatkowski (Omega Pharma-QuickStep).

Tour of Britain stage 8a: London 8.8km individual time trial
1. Bradley Wiggins (GBr) Team Sky in 9-51

2. Sylvain Chavanel (Fra) IAM Cycling at 8 secs
3. Stephen Cummings (GBr) BMC Racing at 9 secs
4. Jan Barta (Cze) NetApp-Endura at 14 secs
5. Matthias Brandle (Aut) IAM Cycling at 15 secs
6. Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol) Omega Pharma-QuickStep at 16 secs
7. Ryan Mullen (Irl) An Post-Chain Reaction at 20 secs
8. Alex Dowsett (GBr) Movistar at 20 secs
9. Christopher Juul Jensen (Den) Tinkoff-Saxo at 24 secs
10. Martin Kohler (Sui) BMC Racing at 25 secs

Tour of Britain stage 8b: London 88.8km circuit race
1. Marcel Kittel (Ger) Giant-Shimano in 1-50-33

2. Mark Cavendish (GBr) Omega Pharma-QuickStep
3. Nicola Ruffoni (Ita) Bardiani CSF
4. Enrique Sanz (Spa) Movistar
5. Rick Zabel (Ger) BMC Racing
6. Ian Wilkinson (GBr) Raleigh
7. Daniel McLay (GBr) Great Britain
8. Nikolay Trusov (Rus) Tinkoff-Saxo
9. Adam Blythe (GBr) NFTO
10. Shane Archbold (NZl) An Post-Chain Reaction all same time

Final overall classification
1. Dylan Van Baarle (Ned) Garmin-Sharp in 32-22-50

2. Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol) Omega Pharma-QuickStep at 10 secs
3. Bradley Wiggins (GBr) Team Sky at 22 secs
4. Edoardo Zardini (Ita) Bardiani at 37 secs
5. Nicolas Roche (Irl) Tinkoff-Saxo at 42 secs
6. Jon Izagirre (Spa) Movistar at 46 secs
7. Sylvain Chavanel (Fra) IAM Cycling at 59 secs
8. Alex Dowsett (GBr) Movistar at 54 secs
9. Jan Barta (Cze) Team NetApp-Endura at 1-09
10. Dylan Teuns (Bel) BMC Racing at 1-10

Points classification: Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol) Omega Pharma-QuickStep
Mountain classification: Mark McNally (GBr) An Post-Chain Reaction
Sprint classification: Sebastian Lander (Den) BMC Racing
Team classification: IAM Cycling

Marcel Kittel wins sprint, Tour of Britain 2014 stage 8b

Marcel Kittel wins sprint, Tour of Britain 2014 stage 8b