Tour of Britain 2019: route preview, TV guide, start list

The race kicks off in Scotland on September 7

The Tour of Britain is back for 2019, with the race moving around the country between September 7 to 14, and kicking off in Scotland.

The first stage will see riders begin in Glasgow’s George Square, travelling to Dumfries and Galloway.

It’s the sixth time Glasgow has hosted an edition of the Ovo Energy Tour of Britain in its current form, the last time was in 2016 when Andre Greipel won the stage to Castle Douglas.

The Tour of Britain’s depart will take place on Saturday and form part of a weekend long cycling celebration, with the 20th anniversary edition of the Pedal for Scotland charity event setting off on Sunday morning.

The stage will be jointly hosted by EventScotland, Glasgow Life and Dumfries and Galloway Council, and the announcement follows the news that Glasgow will host the UCI Cycling World Championships in 2023.

British Cycling Chief Executive, Julie Harrington, commented: “This announcement is a further feather in the cap for Scotland, which has consistently proved itself to be a fantastic host for some of cycling’s biggest events in recent years.

“The newly-formed Women’s Tour of Scotland, the forthcoming UCI Track Cycling World Cup in Glasgow and, of course, the 2023 world championships all demonstrate the standing with in which Scotland is held in the cycling world.”

OVO Energy Tour of Britain Race Director Mick Bennett said: “We are delighted to be returning to Scotland and look forward once again to a warm welcome for the opening stage of this country’s biggest professional bike race.

“Both Glasgow and Dumfries & Galloway have hosted some fantastic and memorable stages of the OVO Energy Tour of Britain, and I am confident that this September will be no different.”

During its eight day takeover, the Ovo Energy sponsored race will visit a selection of towns and cities with plenty of opportunities for UK fans to pitch up and spectate – details of the rest of the route will be announced in the coming weeks.

The race dates right back to 1945, though there have been some gaps in its history. In this time, it’s carried the names of the ‘Milk Race’, ‘Kellogg’s Tour of Britain’ and the ‘Pru Tour’. The existing set-up arrived in 2004 and the race is currently organised by the Sweet Spot Group.

Read on for a breakdown of the stages, route information, TV guides and a rider start list.

Tour of Britain 2019 route: where can I watch?

Crowds will gather at the start and finish towns, as well as lining the route – specifically congregating at key climbs for a chance to see fireworks as riders try to split the race or take control of the peloton.

We know that there will be a stage in Wirral, as part of the area’s celebrations as the Liverpool City Region’s Borough of Culture for 2019. It’s the first time the race has been to  Merseyside since 2014.

>> Dr Hutch: What were the origins of the Tour of Britain?

The 2019 Tour of Britain route is yet to be announced, we’ll update this page when it’s available.

Stage one Saturday, September 7 George Square, Glasgow to Dumfries and Galloway TBC
Stage two Sunday, September 8 TBC TBC
Stage three Monday, September 9
Stage four Tuesday, September 10
Stage five Wednesday, September 11
Stage six Thursday, September 12
Stage seven Friday, September 13
Stage eight Saturday, September 14

Tour of Britain on TV

You’ll be able to see the race live or catch up via highlights on ITV4 – the timings are yet to be announced, but we’ll update this page with details when they become available.

Stage Date Live Highlights
Stage 1 Saturday September 7 TBC TBC
Stage 2 Sunday September 8
Stage 3 Monday September 9
Stage 4 Tuesday September 10
Stage 5 Wednesday September 11
Stage 6 Thursday September 12
Stage 7 Friday September 13
Stage 8 Saturday September 14

Alternatively, you can also catch the racing on fuboTV – there’s a free trial and you can connect on any device.

Who sponsors the Tour of Britain?

British independent energy supplier OVO Energy was unveiled as the race’s title sponsor in 2017, and this is ongoing.

The race is organised by the Sweet Spot Group, who also organise the OVO Energy Women’s Tour.

Tour of Britain jerseys

The top prize at the Tour of Britain is the green jersey, this goes to the leader of the General Classification. In the last edition of the race, this went to Julian Alaphilippe (Quick-Step Floors). He won by 17 seconds over Wout Poels (Team Sky), with Primož Roglič LottoNL-Jumbo) in third at 33s.

Julian Alaphilippe in the leader’s jersey. Picture by Simon Wilkinson/

There’s also a Points jersey up for grabs, for the rider who claims the best results in stage winning sprints. In 2018, this went to Paddy Bevin (BMC Racing Team).

Closely related is the Sprints jersey, donned by the rider who picks up the most points in intermediate sprints – this was awarded to Alex Paton (Canyon Eisberg) last year.

The King of the Mountains Jersey goes to the rider who claims the best results on designated ascents. In 2018, Nic Dlamini (Team Dimension Data) took the honours.

>>> Get inspired: Iconic ToB photos

Past winners of the Tour of Britain

  • 2004 – Mauricio Ardila (COL) Chocolade Jacques-Wincor Nixdorf
  • 2005 – Nick Nuyens (BEL) Quick-Step–Innergetic
  • 2006 – Martin Pedersen (DEN) Team CSC
  • 2007 – Romain Feillu (FRA) Agritubel
  • 2008 – Geoffroy Lequatre (FRA) Agritubel
  • 2009 – Edvald Boasson Hagen (NOR) Team Columbia–HTC
  • 2010 – Michael Albasini (SUI) Team HTC–Columbia
  • 2011 – Lars Boom (NED) Rabobank
  • 2012 – Nathan Haas (AUS) Garmin–Sharp
  • 2013 – Bradley Wiggins (GBR) Team Sky
  • 2014 – Dylan van Baarle (NED) Garmin–Sharp
  • 2015 – Edvald Boasson Hagen (NOR) MTN–Qhubeka
  • 2016 – Steve Cummings (GBR) Team Dimension Data
  • 2017 – Lars Boom (NED) LottoNL–Jumbo
  • 2018 – Julian Alaphilippe (Fra) Quick-Step Floors

Tour of Britain 2020 route

The Ovo Energy Tour of Britain will begin in Penzance in 2020, marking the event’s first visit to Cornwall.

Around 120 riders will cover 170 kilometres from the country’s tip to Bodim, with the provisional route travelling through the likes of St Ives and Newquay.

Other towns included in the route include St Just, Hayle, Camborne, Pool, Redruth, Falmouth, Penryn, Truro, St Austell and the riders should pass the Eden Project.

The agreement was confirmed with Cornwall Council on Friday and it’s expected that the race’s visit will boost Cornwall’s economy by around £3 million with 180,000 people due to spectate.

It’ll be the biggest sporting event ever hosted in Cornwall, and will be broadcast on ITV4 and Eurosport.

Mick Bennett, Tour of Britain Race Director, said: “A lot of hard work over a sustained period has gone into today’s news, which we know will excite sports fans in Cornwall and across Britain.”

Cornishman  and former pro Chris Opie said: “I am a lifelong athlete who grew up in Cornwall, but had to look further afield for inspiration from world class athletes… The chance to witness the world’s top athletes competing in one of the world’s toughest events right on their doorstep, enabling a generation to dream and to aim for large, exciting, ambitious goals could be genuinely life changing.

“Very few individuals have the belief they can do something extraordinary in life, the Tour of Britain is the perfect vehicle to showcase that life can be special.”

Former pro and now Director Sportif of the EF Education First team Tom Southam hails from Penzance and said: “They are roads that I grew up riding on and absolutely love.  It’s a great part of the world and to showcase it by hosting the opening stage of the 2020 Tour of Britain is going to be an incredible event for everyone in Cornwall to get involved with.”