Here is the provisional Ineos Grenadiers squad for the Vuelta a España 2020 

Chris Froome and Richard Carapaz will lead Ineos in Spain 

(Image credit: Getty Images)

The Vuelta a España is a special occasion for British fans as it marks Chris Froome’s long-awaited return to Grand Tour racing. 

Froome hasn’t raced for three weeks since the 2018 Tour de France and hasn’t started the Vuelta since winning it in 2017.

But after his horrific crash last season, the four-time Tour winner is back to the Spanish Grand Tour and will be lining up as join leader for Ineos Grenadiers.

The Vuelta organisers have published the provisional start list for the 2020 race, which starts in the Basque Country on October 20. 

Ineos will be taking a stacked squad to the Vuelta, having missed out on the Tour de France and Giro d’Italia titles this year. 

Surprisingly Egan Bernal, winner of the 2019 Tour de France, will not be racing in Spain after he pulled out of this year’s Tour due to fatigue. 

Instead leadership will fall to Froome and Richard Carapaz, the Ecuadorian winner of the 2019 Giro d’Italia who joined Ineos from Movistar at the start of the season. 

Carapaz has already lined up in a Grand Tour this year, as he was called up to the 2020 Tour de France, but things didn’t go according to plan as Carapaz fell out of contention early. 

The question will be how he has recovered since the final stage of the Tour in September.

Ineos will also be racing with another former Movistar signing, Andrey Amador who also came on board at the start of the season.  

Amador also raced the Tour, but was not a feature at the sharp end of the race.  

>>> ‘We are starting to feel unsafe’: Will the Giro d’Italia make it to Milan? 

Colombian duo Brandon Rivera and Ivan Sosa will also be racing in the Vuelta for Ineos and are likely to feature in the high mountains, along with Dylan van Baarle, while Cameron Wurf will be the workhorse for the team on the flats.  

Ineos  Grenadiers squad for the Vuelta a España 2020

Chris Froome (GBr)

Andrey Amador (CRC) 

Richar Carapaz  (Ecu) 

Michal Golas (Pol) 

Dylan van Baarle (Ned) 

Brandon Rivera (Col) 

Ivan Sosa (Col) 

Cameron Wurf (Aus) 

Thank you for reading 10 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Alex Ballinger

Alex Ballinger is editor of BikeBiz magazine, the leading publication for the UK cycle industry, and is the former digital news editor for After gaining experience in local newsrooms, national newspapers and in digital journalism, Alex found his calling in cycling, first as a reporter, then as news editor responsible for Cycling Weekly's online news output, and now as the editor of BikeBiz. Since pro cycling first captured his heart during the 2010 Tour de France (specifically the Contador-Schleck battle) Alex covered three Tours de France, multiple editions of the Tour of Britain, and the World Championships, while both writing and video presenting for Cycling Weekly. He also specialises in fitness writing, often throwing himself into the deep end to help readers improve their own power numbers.  Away from the desk, Alex can be found racing time trials, riding BMX and mountain bikes, or exploring off-road on his gravel bike. He’s also an avid gamer, and can usually be found buried in an eclectic selection of books.