Michael Woods wins dramatic Vuelta a España 2018 stage 17 as Yates holds on to lead

The brutal fog-obscured Balcón de Bizkaia climb made for an intense stage finish

Michael Woods picks up a dramatic stage win on stage 17 of the Vuelta a España (Photo credit should read ANDER GILLENEA/AFP/Getty Images)

(Image credit: AFP/Getty Images)

Canada’s Michael Woods was able to outlast breakaway rivals to claim victory on the stage 17 mountain-top finish of the Vuelta a España.

The EF Education First-Drapac rider pulled away from BMC’s Dylan Teuns in the brutal final kilometre to take the stage atop the fog-covered climb.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Alex Ballinger

Alex Ballinger is editor of BikeBiz magazine, the leading publication for the UK cycle industry, and is the former digital news editor for CyclingWeekly.com. After gaining experience in local newsrooms, national newspapers and in digital journalism, Alex found his calling in cycling, first as a reporter, then as news editor responsible for Cycling Weekly's online news output, and now as the editor of BikeBiz. Since pro cycling first captured his heart during the 2010 Tour de France (specifically the Contador-Schleck battle) Alex covered three Tours de France, multiple editions of the Tour of Britain, and the World Championships, while both writing and video presenting for Cycling Weekly. He also specialises in fitness writing, often throwing himself into the deep end to help readers improve their own power numbers.  Away from the desk, Alex can be found racing time trials, riding BMX and mountain bikes, or exploring off-road on his gravel bike. He’s also an avid gamer, and can usually be found buried in an eclectic selection of books.