Simon Yates sets up Vuelta a España 2018 overall victory as Enric Mas wins gruelling stage 20

Yates will be able to seal overall victory on the final stage to Madrid on Sunday after successfully navigating the final mountain stage

Simon Yates reached the finish on stage 20 of the 2018 Vuelta a España (Sunada)

(Image credit: Yuzuru SUNADA)

Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott) set up overall victory in the 2018 Vuelta a España after finishing third on the penultimate stage as second place Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) capitulated on the gruelling route through the Andorran mountains.

Yates had attacked on the penultimate climb of the day to distance his closest rival, but on the final climb he was able to ride at his own pace as Valverde cracked with around 4km to go on the slopes of Coll de la Gallina.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Richard Windsor

Follow on Twitter: @richwindy

Richard is digital editor of Cycling Weekly. Joining the team in 2013, Richard became editor of the website in 2014 and coordinates site content and strategy, leading the news team in coverage of the world's biggest races and working with the tech editor to deliver comprehensive buying guides, reviews, and the latest product news.

An occasional racer, Richard spends most of his time preparing for long-distance touring rides these days, or getting out to the Surrey Hills on the weekend on his Specialized Tarmac SL6 (with an obligatory pub stop of course).