Wout van Aert doubles-up with phenomenal sprint victory on Critérium du Dauphiné stage five

The Belgian took his second win of the Dauphiné in a chaotic sprint finish

(Image credit: Getty Images)

Wout van Aert (Jumbo-Visma) took a sensational victory on the Critérium du Dauphiné stage five in a chaotic sprint finish.

Van Aert added the stage five win to his time trial victory just the day before, beating Julian Alaphilippe (Deceuninck-Quick-Step) and Sam Bennett (Bora-Hansgrohe) to the line in Voiron.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Richard Windsor

Follow on Twitter: @richwindy

Richard is digital editor of Cycling Weekly. Joining the team in 2013, Richard became editor of the website in 2014 and coordinates site content and strategy, leading the news team in coverage of the world's biggest races and working with the tech editor to deliver comprehensive buying guides, reviews, and the latest product news.

An occasional racer, Richard spends most of his time preparing for long-distance touring rides these days, or getting out to the Surrey Hills on the weekend on his Specialized Tarmac SL6 (with an obligatory pub stop of course).