Thor Hushovd sprints to win Tour of Poland stage three

Thor Hushovd wins Tour of Poland 2013, stage 3

Left out of BMC's Tour de France team and ‘sent' to ride the Tour of Austria instead, the former world road race champion Thor Hushovd proved he didn't take July off with a sprint win in Rzeszow on the third stage of the Tour of Poland.

Speaking before the stage start in Krakow's town square, Team Sky's Ben Swift rather tempted fate (not that we said anything of course), when he reckoned that "the fact that there aren't such big teams to control the sprints, I don't know, it might be good or bad. It might mean carnage, though I don't mind a bit of carnage!"

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1