Vuelta a España 2022: Rigoberto Uran wins stage 17 from the break

The EF Education-EasyPost rider proved the strongest on the day's final climb while Remco Evenepoel remains in the race lead

Rigo Uran
(Image credit: Tim de Waele/Getty Images)

Rigoberto Uran (EF Education-EasyPost) won stage 17 into Monasterio de Tentudía, ahead of Quentin Pacher (Groupama-FDJ) and Jesus Herrada (Cofidis). It was the Colombian’s first career stage win in the Spanish grand tour.

The three men had formed part of a 13-rider breakaway, which eventually formed a sizable lead after a hectic first hour of racing. Inside the final 18km Lawson Craddock (BikeExchange-Jayco) made a number of attacks as he attempted to leave his fellow chasers behind.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1