Sep Vanmarcke wins thrilling sprint in the inaugural Maryland Cycling Classic

It was a WorldTour team shootout at America's 'most important bike race'

2022 Maryland Cycling Classic end in a four-up sprint
(Image credit: Maryland Cycling Classic)

Belgian Classics specialist  Sep Vanmarcke (Israel-Premier Tech) took his first UCI win since 2019 on Sunday, when he bested a world-class field at the inaugural Maryland Cycling Classic.

After a tough and undulating 196-kilometer (121.7-mile) course, the race came down to a thrilling three-man sprint in which the former Omloop het Nieuwsblad winner nipped Canadian Nickolas Zukowsky (Human Powered Health) at the line, with American talent Neilson Powless (EF Education-EasyPost finishing third.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Anne-Marije Rook
North American Editor

Cycling Weekly's North American Editor, Anne-Marije Rook is old school. She holds a degree in journalism and started out as a newspaper reporter — in print! She can even be seen bringing a pen and notepad to the press conference.

Originally from The Netherlands, she grew up a bike commuter and didn't find bike racing until her early twenties when living in Seattle, Washington. Strengthened by the many miles spent darting around Seattle's hilly streets on a steel single speed, Rook's progression in the sport was a quick one. As she competed at the elite level, her journalism career followed, and soon she became a full-time cycling journalist. She's now been a cycling journalist for 11 years.